PDA

View Full Version : Should I or Shouldn't I ???

LittleTone
05-09-2011, 12:18
Hi Guys,

Currently using SB Touch into Beresford DAC into Audiolab 8000S to Mission 753 Freedom speakers.
I tempted to purchase a Temple Audio Bantam Gold.
Any opinion guys as to the benefit ; if any.

Skeptical
Tony

YNWaN
05-09-2011, 14:03
I am tempted to purchase a Temple Audio Bantam Gold.

Why are you tempted?

LittleTone
05-09-2011, 17:33
Their web page and testimonials sound quite convincing. The manufacturer has advised that it will be more dynamic than a 80w per channel amp !!! I only need one input and the size and price is attractive. Unfortunately I have no experience of this type of amp. Just looking for feedback from those who have. I've grown up, that's about 45 years, mainly with transistor amps of all sorts and the belief that bigger (power wise) along with quality of course, is better.
Regards
Tony

Ali Tait
05-09-2011, 17:40
I have two and IMHO they are very good indeed. They do like speakers with an easy load though.

DSJR
05-09-2011, 17:44
8000S into 753 freedoms? Hmmmm.....

The 8000S isn't the gentlest of presentations either pre or post Tag I feel, but, and I think Alex_UK will bear this out as he's struggling with one at present with some success, that if you get the cabling right (no silver plated anything and excellent as I know them to be, the Mark grant HD1000 cables are too much of a good thing), the 8000S can still do a good job - even better if you can find a matching 8000PX from the old UK made series and bi-amp instead.

As for 753's, the further away from them you get, the better :eyebrows: