PDA

View Full Version : Hello AOS from Staffordshire!

Lightweight
31-10-2008, 10:26
Hi,

I'd just like to say hi and introduce myself. I'm fairly new to this level of sound reproduction, but have been interesed in listening to music for ever - I've been lucky enough to have worked in the concert touring industry for 25 years and this background has shaped my requirements for reproduced music in the home.

Currently I'm effectively speakerless, having sold the Tannoy Canterbury 15's that have been filling my front room to Ian. That's why I'm here, he and Marco brought his modified valve amplifier round to audition the speakers and blew me away with the dynamic range, transient response and clarity that was possible from a valve amplifier. The sound was the nearest I have heard to standing on stage in front of a drum kit and backline without being there, apart from in a recording studio, and that's the sound I'm going to work towards.

So, I'm on the quest for a new pair of speakers and amp to drive them, but I'm fairly sure of the amplification route I'm going to take!

Cheers for now,

Ian Clarke.

Filterlab
31-10-2008, 10:43
Hi Ian and welcome, lovely to have you aboard. :)

25 years in the concert industry eh?! Nice one, who've you worked with over the years, anyone interesting?

Good luck on finding your ideal speakers and amp, definitely check out the Links Box as there may be a few guys there who can help you.

Cheers!

Marco
31-10-2008, 10:54
Hi Ian,

Welcome. Great to have you here, mate!

Are you borrowing the Yaqin from Anthony? It's mad isn't it with Steve just being down the road from you? :eyebrows:

You'll find loads of useful info here about the Yaqin and Anthony's modified version, along with his modified Puresound A30, so just search on it, or if you have any specific questions post a new thread and you'll get loads of helpful advice.

Are you going to try Anthony's Tannoys, too?