PDA

View Full Version : Switched or unswitched mains sockets

JazzBones
10-04-2011, 13:51
It has long been accepted as good practice (as far as I know) to have your Hi Fi and AV equipment powered up from an unswitched UK mains socket. How much of a difference to performance is there in using a 'switched' socket :scratch:? Is there any difference and if there is what is the difference?
I do believe in good quality plugs and sockets such as those from Grabtree and MK, the former are favourites of mine. I can't give my opinion on upmarket items simply because I have no experience in using the likes of Isotex, Furutech etc., but purely from an engineering view point they are very well made, maybe OTT (?), but is the bang for the buck a big one? Back to the question... unswitched or switched?

Mainland EU and USA use different plugs and back in Oz the mains plugs have a different unfused manufacture, does a switch or unswitched mains output socket make any difference to sound performance. It would be nice to hear opinions from outside UK borders as well on this one :):hmm:

Jazz/Ron

MCRU
10-04-2011, 17:13
Un-switched because the switch is un-neccessary circuitry. On the conductivity of electricity scale silver is first, copper is second and gold is 3rd. Pure silver is not used for sockets, copper is used by Furutech and brass by most others. So purely from a conductivity point of view copper sockets would be best, they are usually plated to stop the copper from oxidising, so gold plated copper would seem a good choice as gold is a good conductor as well as copper.

How they conduct electrons is not the entire story however as your partnering cables and equipment all have to be taken into the equation but in general a copper socket would be better than a brass one, especially if it has been cryo treated which removes internal streeses in the materials and has been known to improve conductivity as a result.