PDA

View Full Version : Amplifier(power?) for B&W CM1

Trumpetman
04-04-2011, 05:38
Hey.

I managed to get some CM1`s cheap but now need an budget priced amplifier to run them. As Im a trumpet student with not to much money :S
Im most likely going to buy a Beresford Caiman dac and maybe i should use it as a pre amp and buy a power amp or is a integrated amp a better choice?

I know the CM1`s have a 84db sensitivity, which I understand is fairly low, and therefore hard to drive or am i wrong?
I have been thinking of a Rotel 1070/2 which i can get fairly cheap 2 hand. would this manage to power the speakers?
I dont really like the denon amplifiers as i think the combination sound to bright for my taste.
Are there any other good combos that will work well?

Tnx in advance
Espen

Trumpetman
09-04-2011, 06:39
noone that can help me?

Ali Tait
09-04-2011, 07:00
Hi Espen,
Can you DIY a little? If so, you could try some of the more powerful Tripath kits on ebay. These seem in general to have a smooth sound with a valve like mid and top end, which seems to be what you are looking for. Some of these are cheap and sound very good, so they are great value for money, perfect for a cash conscious student.

Ali Tait
09-04-2011, 07:02
If you are not sure about DIY, you could try a Hlly T amp 90. I have had one of these and they are very good for the money. Plenty power for your needs too at 90 w/ch.

Alex_UK
09-04-2011, 07:03
Hi Espen, sorry no one has come to your assistance. [EDIT:] Ali did whilst I was typing this!