PDA

View Full Version : Older Quad equipment question?

Tim
01-04-2011, 21:43
I have recently been looking at Quad Power Amplifiers and in particular the 909. I think I read somewhere here that somebody considered the older models to be preferable to the newer ones, can anyone enlarge on this at all?

Also, is there anyway to tell from the serial number when the product may have been manufactured or where?

Many thanks
Tim

Barry
01-04-2011, 21:56
I have recently been looking at Quad Power Amplifiers and in particular the 909. I think I read somewhere here that somebody considered the older models to be preferable to the newer ones, can anyone enlarge on this at all?

Also, is there anyway to tell from the serial number when the product may have been manufactured or where?

Many thanks
Tim

Although I have no experience of the 909, I believe it is considered to be the best development of Quad's 'current dumping' circuit.

The only advice and caution I would offer (as a loyal Quad user for the last thirty years), is to look for an early model 909 that was made in Huntingdon. Later models were made in China and used cheaper and poorer quality components.

Regards

Tim
01-04-2011, 22:03
The only advice and caution I would offer (as a loyal Quad user for the last thirty years), is to look for an early model 909 that was made in Huntingdon. Later models were made in China and used cheaper and poorer quality components.

Regards
I think that's what I remember someone saying before. It's 8 years old, so I guess that may well make it a Huntingdon model?

DSJR
01-04-2011, 22:08
I thought ALL 909's were made in China...

Seriously, the 606mk2 onwards is a great and well implemented design, but even these may need the supply caps doing by now. The later 909's apparently don't meet their spec for distortion, but replacing the supply caps and other critical ones (see the Yahoo Quad group site and the Dada Blogspot for a reference), seems to restore everything to optimum.