PDA

View Full Version : Hi, no not that guy from the horror movies.

darucla
31-03-2011, 16:21
I'm actually Doug. My user name is a derivation of my initials and UCLA, where I recently spent a year studying film.

I used to work in the trade (REW, Pioneer, Marantz etc.), and wouldn't mind getting back in, but I am getting on.

I've been into hi fi since about 1972. After a Westminster by Dixons stereo, my first hifi system was a Thorens TD150AB/Shure M75ED, Cambridge P50 and Pioneer SE/JB 44 electrostatic headphones. None of which unfortunately are still owned by me. I still have a Linn/Ittok, Pioneer PL12D, Transcriptor Hydraulic Reference, and loads of other equipment which I have never got around to selling off.

I got into music through The Beatles (after a brief fling with Cliif Richard's Summer Holiday - sorry), and now have quite eclectic tastes, although I mainly listen to older poplular music, folk etc, along with Mahler, Beethoven, and loads of that stuff. Recently went to 2 Leonard Cohen concerts, in Liverpool and St. Louis, so probably a hopeless case.

John
31-03-2011, 17:32
Welcome to AOS Doug

Reid Malenfant
31-03-2011, 18:22
Hi Doug, a warm welcome to AoS from me also :) Plenty to do & see round here so get stuck in...

I hope you enjoy your stay :cool:

amsterdam
31-03-2011, 19:50
Hi Doug,

Nice to see you...

Bit presumptuous, but you have PM.

darucla
31-03-2011, 21:47
Hi Jonathan

I have tried to reply to your PM, but cannot see any evidence of it having actually being sent. No messages in Sent Items. Maybe I haven't been a member long enough yet.

The Grand Wazoo
31-03-2011, 22:11
Keep posting, you'll get there!
Welcome from me Doug.

Spectral Morn
31-03-2011, 23:01
Welcome to AOS Doug :)

Regards D S D L

Alex_UK
31-03-2011, 23:07
Hi Doug, welcome to AoS. I spent ages putting together a post, only for the forum to crash... :steam: