PDA

View Full Version : Can home wi fi affect audio components?

magiccarpetride
10-03-2011, 18:50
By 'affect' I mean introduce RF noise and such.

Reid Malenfant
10-03-2011, 19:02
Possibly yes ;) I certainly know that mobile phones sure as hell do, damn things are a nuisance :eek:

Mr Pig
10-03-2011, 19:24
My system doesn't pick up anything like that. We've got two wireless routers in the house and they don't seem to interfere with anything.

My son's Hi-Fi is connected to his PC via a DAC and it buzzes every time his phone receives a text.

Alex_UK
10-03-2011, 19:41
Funny you should mention this, because I just moved my wireless router into the living room, but before doing so permanently, tried it temporarily - and, also switched it all down for a couple of hours. I could notice no difference at all. That's not to say it couldn't cause problems, but in my system it doesn't. At the frequencies which wifi operates* I think it is unlikely to be a problem, but I'm no expert. (* 2.4Ghz from memory.)

magiccarpetride
10-03-2011, 19:54
Possibly yes ;) I certainly know that mobile phones sure as hell do, damn things are a nuisance :eek:

You mean when they ring, or in general?

Reid Malenfant
10-03-2011, 20:03
I'm not sure if you know how mobiles work, i'm pretty sure i don't fully that's for sure. Every so often the base station/s will contact the mobile & get the mobile to reciprocate, at this point the mobile will be intsructed to either increase or decrease it's transmitted power output depending on whether the base stations are receiving a strong or weak signal...