PDA

View Full Version : Strange things happening in the world of computer audio

Tim
05-03-2011, 14:05
Well at the moment I'm listening to Tina Dico which is streaming wirelessly from my music server, via a small 10" Samsung Netbook into a Caiman DAC. The only changes to my system lately have been the addition of the Caiman and a pair of Mark Grant G1000HD cables.

So here's the thing (and I have been playing with it all morning) I am preferring the sound I am getting from this set-up, than from my Musical Fidelity A3 CD player.

That can't be right, surely?

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w63/greatgig/dico1-1.jpg

Reid Malenfant
05-03-2011, 14:26
So here's the thing (and I have been playing with it all morning) I am preferring the sound I am getting from this set-up, than from my Musical Fidelity A3 CD player.

Well this is what the file audio boys keep saying :eyebrows: Personally i have zero experience in this department, i wouldn't mind getting a listen on my own system though.

What i can say is that even MP3 files that i have on my PC fed to a USB to S/PDIF & into my dCS gear does sound significantly better than it ever did by being decoded on the onboard DAC :)

DSJR
05-03-2011, 14:49
You'll probably find it's a mixture of crude design implementation of the DAC or output stage in the CD player, coupled with other real-time reading issues in red-book playback which are got over in a streeming solution.

Sorry to be so negative about your CD player, but the difference between a £500 and £3000 model is usually a few hundred on the case and a few pence (often I reckon) on components and any extra wiring used.....

MF do a "race-tuning" service for many of their legacy products, so it may be worth a gander at their site to see what they weould do to your player, which I believe is nigh on ten years old now?

Welder
05-03-2011, 15:06