PDA

View Full Version : ALO Panda Mini-Monitor Review

Ergoline
02-03-2011, 19:35
ALO Panda Mini-Monitor Review

Hello everyone! Even though I just joined here, I thought I'd try my hand at a review; both because I've never done one of this nature before and also to help me get to know you guys better.

Of course, I wouldn't have bothered if I thought there wouldn't be genuine interest. The speaker I've chosen to review is a little known but fantastic widebander, and at $268 US, they're a steal. I've owned them for about a year.

http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h374/Ergoline1448/SDIM0171_cropped_vga.jpg

First, a bit about the manufacturer:

www.aloaudio.com

ALO audio (Audio Line Out) is a manufacturer of cables, most known for their iPod Line-Out Dock cables and headphone cables. They do an assortment of braided designs of copper, spc, and silver. They also make cables for Red Wine Audio. They are located in Portland, Oregon, USA, and operate the retail store 32 Ohm Audio.

I had previously purchased a LOD from them, but believe it or not, it wasn't for me! Yes, I know two real live people near me who are into audio nirvana too! The cable seemed to be of excellent quality build wise. Unfortunately, I never heard my buddy's current portable rig with any other cable, so I have nothing to compare it against. However, I'd say the fact that he still has it in use today is a good sign.

The Pandas are their first loudspeakers. They feature a 3.5'' driver that is a clone of the Aurasound NS3. The specs of the bare drivers are:

Frequency Response: 80hz-15khz
Impedance: 8 Ohms
Sensitivity: 82 db/w/m
Xmax: Something ridiculous. The surrounds on these things are huge!
Max Power: 20 Watts continuous