+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Leak Stereo 20

I'm Andrew.

Default Leak Stereo 20

I fancy treating myself to a valve amp and have decided to try the Leak out. Can anyone recommend a decent pre-amp match for it? It'll form part of a seconf system mainly for Jazz and prog rock. TT will be a garrard 301 and speakers will be an old pair of Celestion Ditton 15XR's. I intend to full rewire the speakers at some stage.

I'm Imjustsurviving.

These amps are a bit on the sensative side so a passive pre works well with them, you could make your own with an Alps pot and a few phono sockets very cheaply
    Jon

A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.

Set up
    Lafayette el84 power amp , Audio note M1 pre , Tannoy Sterlings, Garrard 301 , SME 3012 , puresound P10, Ortofon SPU, Cambridge CXN streamer
    Micro mega Duo 3 cd transport ,

I'm Andrew.

Mant thanks for your reply. I'm new to Valves, my main hobbying is tweaking and restoring TT's. I'll see if I can find a decent passive pre-amp.

I'm Gino.

I have used a Leak Stereo 20 for years and agree with Jon about the use of a passive as the amplifier is sensitive. Probably too sensitive to work with most preamps without some form of line attenuation.

It has a high input impedance so you will need to keep the attenuator or passive switch box near to the amp with short interconnects to avoid HF attenuation. When I rebuilt my amp I wired a couple of 20K Ohm trimmers across the input so I could use almost anything to drive it.

At the moment I use the Leak or a Quad 303 with a pair of LS3/as and an Audio Reasearch LS7 line stage and Trichord Dino phono amp.

The Leak is very nice for acoustic music such as chamber Jazz, but I am not sure about prog rock. I don’t think it had been invented when Harold designed is amp, Tommy Steele perhaps.

I'm David.

Default leak