+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Losing Signal With Airport Express

I'm Lee.

Default Losing Signal With Airport Express

My AE is in the corner of my room and approximately 15ft away from my mac.

Here's a pic:

I sometimes lose signal, not enough to give up with it, but enough for it to bother me.

Considering it's placement, should I really be losing signal?
    Lee

Independent Apple tech support guy at Macnology

Gear: iMac > ALAC > Airport Express > Beresford Caiman DAC > Mark Grant IC > Audiolab 8000S > Chord Rumour Speaker Cable > Dynaudio Audience 42 Speakers > Grado SR80 Headphones

Vinyl: 90's Rega Planar 2, RB250, Bias Cart, Rega Fono Mini

Last.fm

Alex_UK is offline Spotify + Facebook Moderator / Chilled-Out Wino and only here for the shilling

I'm WrappingALilacCurtainAroundMyBobby.

I may be wrong, but of more importance is where your router is Lee - I believe the AE will connect to the router, not the mac directly? (Only guessing as I have no mac knowledge, but that's how it works with my SoundBridge which is basically doing the same job on a PC network.)
    Alex

Main System: Digital: HP Laptop/M2Tech Hiface/Logitech Media Server/FLAC; Marantz SA7001 KI Signature SACD Player and other digital stuff into Gatorised Beresford Caiman DAC Vinyl: Garrard 401/SME 3009 SII Improved/Sumiko HS/Nagaoka MP-30
    Amplifier: Rega Brio R. Speakers: Spendor SP1. Cables: Various, mainly Mark Grant.
    Please see "about me" for the rest of my cr@p! Gallery

A.o.S. on Facebook - A.o.S. on Spotify - A.o.S. on Twitter

There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing Aristotle

Default The AE is point to point

Unfoturnately the AE's wireless capabilities are not its best quality. You can try changing its orientation to see if signal reliability improves.

CD
    David