+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Digital Build

Default Digital Build

Hi All

I am looking for some advice on building a digital audiophile set up from scratch

I currently use a Pioneer transit for CD playback to a Onkyo 876 AV amp with BW speakers

Looking to covert all my Red Book CD's to digital storage and playback etc,I have a 500gb hard drive installed on my Airport already and use a Powerful HP HDX premium series laptop with windows vista

So what are my choices,dac,programs,route etc for me to take to build my digital libary for a complete novice

My budget is not fixed so all recommendations welcome

Thanks in advance

raytom

I'm Keith.

Raytom, Mac mini, ipod 'touch' as remote, Async firewire or async USB dac of your choice/budget, that's it sq will be ( depending on the dac)state of the art.
    Keith.
    Cessaro Horn Acoutics,David Wright ,Mola-Mola , Weiss MAN301,Dynavector XV1- Manger Loudspeakers Grimm Audio LS1,worlds best sounding loudspeaker.
    Mini DSP digital signal processing.
    www.puriteaudio.co.uk

Hi Keith

iPod touch is sorted as have iPhone 4

What dac's do you advise?

And how does this all go together with Hard drive etc

What program's you use on Mac mini and iphone (touch) etc

Thanks for reply

Ray

I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

Hi Ray,

Welcome to AOS!

Could you please pop into the Welcome area and introduce yourself to our community by supplying your basic geographical location, system details and music tastes, as this is a requirement for all new members joining our site.
    Cheers!

Marco.
    Main System

Turntable: Heavily-modified Technics SL-1210MK5G [Mike New bearing/ETP platter/Paul Hynes SR7 PSU & reg mods]. Funk Firm APM Achromat/Nagaoka GL-601 Crystal Record Weight/Isonoe feet & boots/Ortofon RS-212D/Denon DL-103GL in Denon PCL-300 headshell with Funk Firm Houdini/Kondo SL-115 pure-silver cartridge leads.

Paul Hynes MC head amp/SR5 PSU. Also modded Lentek head amp/Denon AU-310 SUT.