+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 116 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 1153

Thread: Caiman passive output mod revealed

  1. #11
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Dunfermline, Scotland, UK

    Posts: 12,276
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    Bought some of these to try this-

    http://www.hificollective.co.uk/comp...p_bipolar.html

    Got some 100nf bypass caps from epay too.

  2. #12

    Default

    I can describe that the most noticable aspect of the mod for me is the following:

    - Less grain on bright tracks (this was a really annoying aspect before)
    - Tighter Bass
    - More detail on instruments.

    I have huge crossover Mundorf caps lol a bit overkill and far from pretty, but does a good job =)

  3. #13
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Oakengates, Shropshire

    Posts: 593
    I'm Richard.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Puffin View Post
    Can you describe how it is MUCH MUCH better?
    It's going back a while since I did this mod, but as I remember it: Detail retrieval went through the roof, instrument texture and decay is breathtaking, timing is massively improved, bass goes lower, is more tuneful and better controlled (I had a bit of boom before doing this mod, partially down to my room, but this seemed to sort it out), treble is natural and airy. Oh and vocals - well they just become completely free of the speakers and project right out in front of you.

    Now I've remembered all of that, I'm definitely doing the Caiman this week
    Rich

  4. #14
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Dunfermline, Scotland, UK

    Posts: 12,276
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    What caps did you use?

  5. #15
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 5,869
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    It has occurred to me that you could use the variable output (cut the connectors) and then you could swap between the two?
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

  6. #16
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Oakengates, Shropshire

    Posts: 593
    I'm Richard.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ali Tait View Post
    What caps did you use?
    Just some Nichicon Muse electrolytics, non-bipolar ones as I happened to have them lying around. I have some bipolar ones for doing the Caiman mod though. Not sure how much difference that will make.
    Rich

  7. #17
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Dunfermline, Scotland, UK

    Posts: 12,276
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    Ok ta.

  8. #18
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 5,869
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Puffin View Post
    It has occurred to me that you could use the variable output (cut the connectors) and then you could swap between the two?
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

  9. #19
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Dunfermline, Scotland, UK

    Posts: 12,276
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    Good idea!

  10. #20
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 5,869
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    StanB. Is there any reason not to use the variable outputs for this mod if you don't use them?
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 116 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •