+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Two amps on one system?

  1. #1
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Meriden, UK

    Posts: 178
    I'm Phil.

    Default Two amps on one system?

    Got the itch to reacquire an example of the first amp I ever owned, i.e. a Rotel RA 313.

    Brute of an amp, the performance of which I've never really felt that I've matched since (unless memory is painting everything in the very pinkest of rosy hues), especially when hooked up to a good 'table.

    I am quite impressed by the Marantz my system currently hinges upon and the many choices of interconnectivity provided by the latter is something I want to retain.

    I'd probably hook only the turntable into the Rotel and leave everything else as is through the Marantz.

    So...is there a way to incorporate two amps into one system and one pair of speakers, with a simple switch betwixt the two? Or am I simply being a nostalgic knobhead?

  2. #2
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 1,247
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Lawton View Post
    I'd probably hook only the turntable into the Rotel and leave everything else as is through the Marantz.
    So...is there a way to incorporate two amps into one system and one pair of speakers...
    The simple way to do that would be to use the Rotel as an outboard phonostage, ie turntable into the Rotel's phono input, take a line out from the Rotel's tape outputs and feed that into one of the line inputs on the Marantz.
    Of course, you wouldn't be using the Rotel's power amp when listening to vinyl. Does that matter?

  3. #3
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Harold Hill, Romford, Essex

    Posts: 5,094
    I'm tired.

    Default

    One of these -

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Beresford...4AAOSws6ZaCrRW

    I have one (pictured in my avatar, I switch between valves & solid state) & it works very well.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Harold Hill, Romford, Essex

    Posts: 5,094
    I'm tired.

    Default

    Connections


  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Meriden, UK

    Posts: 178
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Somewhat...I was hoping to use the chain of turntable -> phono stage -> Rotel.

    A thought occurs...could I run speaker leads from the Rotel to the second set of speaker posts and be very careful about not having both amps switched on at the same time?

  6. #6
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Meriden, UK

    Posts: 178
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Roy S View Post
    Connections

    Looks like a solution...off to investigate further.

    Cheers, Roy.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 21,124
    I'm Martin.

    Default




    I'm guessing you know where you can find one?


    Should be an interesting comparison.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Technics SL1200P CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *


    'This is the sort of music I'd be listening to if I was going shopping for a training bra.'

  8. #8
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: The Black Country

    Posts: 4,222
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Lawton View Post
    Somewhat...I was hoping to use the chain of turntable -> phono stage -> Rotel.

    A thought occurs...could I run speaker leads from the Rotel to the second set of speaker posts and be very careful about not having both amps switched on at the same time?
    Not to be recommended. You could get away with it provided the second output could be OFF, i.e. both amps has selector switches for speakers to be on or off.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Meriden, UK

    Posts: 178
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macca View Post



    I'm guessing you know where you can find one?


    Should be an interesting comparison.
    That's the baby.

    There are always a few about and cheap enough to make it a relatively harmless punt.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Meriden, UK

    Posts: 178
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebottle View Post
    Not to be recommended. You could get away with it provided the second output could be OFF, i.e. both amps has selector switches for speakers to be on or off.
    Both amps would be thusly equipped, Alan...although it is a bit of an inelegant solution/idea to start with.

+ Reply to Thread



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •