+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Tidal on Digione/Rpi

  1. #1
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,426
    I'm Geoff.

    Default Tidal on Digione/Rpi

    I have been using Volumio with my Rpi/Digione and have been very happy with it. However, I would like to use Tidal with my Rpi as I have a HIFI account with them.

    What is the best/easiest way to run Tidal on a RPi and do I have to switch from Volumio?

    Thanks


    Geoff

  2. #2
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Lisbon, Portugal

    Posts: 70
    I'm Luis.

    Default

    If that was possible I would consider going from Spotify to Tidal.

    I dont know any add on that does that job.

    Enviado do meu HTC_M10h através do Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date: Mar 2016

    Location: Barnet, london UK

    Posts: 869
    I'm Adam.

    Default

    If you want to Integrate both your locally stored music and Tidal,
    Bubble UPnP (free) works very well. this can be downloaded on to the Rpi card. Also Logitech Media Server (LMS), which can also be downloaded onto the memory card, is pretty seamless BUT the restriction on the amount of content the servers allow on Logitech Media Server from Tidal is limited to just 500 favourites which is a bit pants, if you, like me, had far more saved albums etc.

    ipeng (small cost) is great if using an apple device to control the whole thing. Linn Kazoo (free) is also very good.

    But I feel you may hit a brick wall with the amount of content issue.
    I did, so eventually a small headless computer was installed in the room and ROON (£85 a year) now directs and handles all streaming and locally stored content without restrictions on the amount of content. Sorry to say. IMHO, it's far superior in every way to the Rpi approach.

    lots of help over on the Computer Audiophile forum.


    see link below for tutorials..not that difficult to be honest.

    https://www.hifizine.com/2016/06/how...-raspberry-pi/

    and the forum with loads of info and help..
    It's U.S based so bear that in mind when posting with times etc..

    https://www.computeraudiophile.com/forums/
    "lack of passion is fatal"
    Gerrard 401, classic hifi hammertone, Russ Collinson plinth / Tenuto Gun Metal Turntable Mat / SME 3012 J7 Rewired / audio-technica ATP-12T - phonomac modified / Ortofon Vintage SPU GE /Shure M3D /DV XX2Mk2 / The Cartridge Man Music Master with isolator / Miyajima Zero B 0.7mil Mono / Vintage GE VRII Mono / WAD 300b Power modded, TJ Mesh Plate Valves / David Coe AD Audio 'Satchmo' Pre & Phono / Hashimoto HM-7 SUT / Tannoy 12" MGs in RFC Custom Rutland Cabinets with RFC Custom Crossovers / Speaker Cables: Duelund DCA16GA Tinned Copper / SW1X Audio Design USB-SPdif / SW1X Audio Design DAC 1 Signature / Interconnects: Duelund DCA20GA home brew /SW1X Audio SPDIF AERO 6 / Synology NAS Drive / Roon / Tidal HiFi / Mains Power Conditioner

  4. #4
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: KY - Scotland

    Posts: 3,147
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    If you use an android device to control Volumio just use the Bubble uPnP app and then add your Tidal account details to that app and that will then allow you to send your Tidal stream directly to your device via Volumio.

    You can see Tidal is one of the options selectable within Bubble uPnP.

    The 2nd photo shows each of the devices I can choose to send whatever stream I'm using, whether it's Google Play, Qobuz, Tidal, my Nas, etc.

    I don't use Volumio but I'm sure when I did previously it showed up in the choice of renderers within Bubble.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Aug 2016

    Location: France

    Posts: 169
    I'm Andre.

    Default

    hey guys,
    see some interesting news here...
    https://volumio.org/myvolumio-the-ne...-music-lovers/

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,426
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Had a very quick play with the "bubble". Very easy to set up with Tidal and it detected my LG smart tv immediately. I am currently re-installing Volumio and will try it with that shortly. Sounds very good through the tv system though.

    Geoff

  7. #7
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: KY - Scotland

    Posts: 3,147
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherwood View Post
    Had a very quick play with the "bubble". Very easy to set up with Tidal and it detected my LG smart tv immediately. I am currently re-installing Volumio and will try it with that shortly. Sounds very good through the tv system though.

    Geoff
    As long as Volumio is set for dlna/uPnP to be sorted, long time since I used Volumio but I'm sure it has that by default.

    I think for full Bubble use you need to buy the license, can't remember price but it's cheap.

  8. #8
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,426
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyb View Post
    As long as Volumio is set for dlna/uPnP to be sorted, long time since I used Volumio but I'm sure it has that by default.

    I think for full Bubble use you need to buy the license, can't remember price but it's cheap.
    Reinstalled Volumio and installed the Tidal app on Bubble. Works perfectly. The licensed version is £2.99 so no brainer really.

    Geoff

  9. #9
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: KY - Scotland

    Posts: 3,147
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherwood View Post
    Reinstalled Volumio and installed the Tidal app on Bubble. Works perfectly. The licensed version is £2.99 so no brainer really.

    Geoff
    Perfect

  10. #10
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,426
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyb View Post
    Perfect
    thanks for the pointer.

    tidal is pretty impressive

    geoff

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •