+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grille re-covering

I'm inactive.

Default Grille re-covering

I recently acquired a pair of Quad 22L floor standers that were going locally via ebay auction (£206 bid).
    They are in fine nick with only a couple of very minor marks. The finish if Bird's Eye Maple which I was really chuffed with as I like light coloured wood.
    Only thing I didn't like were the black grilles so I decided to refurb them in something more turd coloured to match the plethora of wood in my listening room.

Initially I thought the frames were plastic which bothered me as, although I have a lot of relevant upholstery experience, I have never fitted material to plastic frames. Fortunately closer examination revealed that they were actually heavily coated MDF - so panic over
    Even better, when I finally got around to tackling the job (staple gun in hand...) I discovered they had used a rather neat method for fastening the covering; about 10mm in from the edge is a groove running around the back of the frame and the material was simply pressed into it:

old corner by miktec101, on Flickr

So removing it was simply a case of pulling it out of the groove:

old remove by miktec101, on Flickr
    Last edited by mikmas; 28-04-2018 at 13:35.

I'm inactive.

I had envisaged some coffee coloured material for the re-covering. Initial searches of local (UK) suppliers only yielded chocolate brown, which for me was too dark and not much better than black. I eventually found a decent colour via a German trader on Amazon and ordered a piece.

Unfortunately online colours can deceive and when it arrived it turned out to be a delicate hue akin to cat diarrhoea

In the end I opted for cotton/linen scrim sourced locally. Scrim used to be fairly common in upholstery applications and has the advantage of being A. naturally coloured and B. very open weave (and acoustically transparent)