+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Quad input board help

I'm Bob.

Default Quad input board help

Does anyone know what the four options are for this board that goes into my Quad 33 pre amp are, I know S1 is for CD or in my case my DAC, the other options are M1, M2 and C1, I seem to remember that M1 and M2 are for record decks but I got this modified board from Quad in about 1988 shortly after I got the amp from a friend and wanted to use CD's using the "Disc" input rather than Radio or Tape inputs (I like things in order).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    System a mixture of old and new.

Speakers Tannoy Cheviot, Amp Pioneer receiver but looking for something new, Source Xbox One X (For everything) via a Panasonic 65inch 4k HDR TV.

I'm Dennis.

From memory, ('91 when I sold it, M1 and M2 are for different sensitivities for vinyl cartridge O/Ps.

But you say you have a modified one, which is impossible to analyse it from that picture, and I have no knowledge of any later evolvement of the Quad boards to deal with CD. The net perhaps, or even Quad.

I'm openingabottleofwine.

The S1 side of the Disc Adaptor Board was for 'Special' inputs (pickup cartridges that were neither electrodynamic nor ceramic), and as such was unpopulated with components, but formed part of the RIAA preamp circuit.

To use a CD player with a Quad 33 you need to use either the "Radio" input with a 14dB attenuator for each channel, or directly into the "Tape" input with the Tape Adaptor Board set to "H".
    Barry

I'm inactive.

C1 is for ceramic cartridges with an output up to 80mv
    MI is for magnetic cartridges with an output up to 2mv
    M2 for magnetic cartridges with an output up to 6mv

(Source - Quad 33 manual)

S1 is a 'special' input which could be adapted for various input needs. The modification to S1 that might have been done to yours was suggested by Quad in a Tech doc No. 036 issued in 1991 titled 'Using a CD Player with the 33 Control Unit'