+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 45

Thread: Who's got Schiit ? (apologies)

  1. #11
    Join Date: Sep 2017

    Location: Dublin

    Posts: 94
    I'm Pavel.

    Default

    What kind of stepped attenuator is used in the Tisbury preamp? I personally think that a garden variety 23-24 step attenuators are too coarse and I often find myself in a situation where my desired setting is between two steps which is mildly infuriating. The Schiit at least gives you 64 steps (1 dB each) and this is a huge advantage in my book.

    Also with the Schiit unit you can switch between passive and active if you have problems with impedance mismatch.

  2. #12
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 32,178
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shovel_Knight View Post
    What kind of stepped attenuator is used in the Tisbury preamp?
    Did you not see what I said? The Tisbury does not use a stepped attenuator.

  3. #13
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 933
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    I own a Tisbury and that definitely uses a pot.
    Definitely looks like a stepped attenuator to me, though to be fair it does look a lot like a pot from the outside.

  4. #14
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 933
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    Did you not see what I said? The Tisbury does not use a stepped attenuator.
    Look at the picture. That 's a circular line of surface-mount resistors, not a carbon track.

  5. #15
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 32,178
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Inside a Tisbury. Can you see a stepped attenuator?


  6. #16
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 32,178
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RothwellAudio View Post
    Look at the picture. That 's a circular line of surface-mount resistors, not a carbon track.
    I dare say, but there's not one in the Schitt Sys.

  7. #17
    Join Date: Sep 2017

    Location: Dublin

    Posts: 94
    I'm Pavel.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    Did you not see what I said? The Tisbury does not use a stepped attenuator.
    You probably posted your message while I was typing mine. By the way, their website claims that they use a stepped attenuator in their passive pre. Do you have the current version?

  8. #18
    Join Date: Sep 2017

    Location: Dublin

    Posts: 94
    I'm Pavel.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    I dare say, but there's not one in the Schitt Sys.
    I thought the OP asked about Schiit Saga which is a completely different beast.

  9. #19
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 32,178
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shovel_Knight View Post
    You probably posted your message while I was typing mine. By the way, their website claims that they use a stepped attenuator in their passive pre. Do you have the current version?
    Ah. It seems they do use one in the latest model.

  10. #20
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: glasgow

    Posts: 2,080
    I'm tony.

    Default

    I specked my tissie with a stepper and fixed output to run a head amp.

    Good folk to deal with and a lovely wee passive for the money.

    I have a Prometheus tvc for sale in the private exhibitions-just saying like!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •