+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! valve bias problem

I'm Mick.

Default Help! valve bias problem

Hi All.
    I treated myself to a second hand ARC D115 just before Christmas, and apart from one noisy pre valve all seemed well, I went through the motions of setting the bias and the DC balance with no problems.
    Im new to the world of Valve power amps so was pleased.

I ordered 3 ECC88 tubes, when they arrived installed them. setting the DC balance again.

When collected the amp I was told 17 of the valves had been replaced but I doubt this to be correct, The power valves 6550s do look new but who can tell.

I have been enjoying the sound from this beast daily for the past 3 weeks.

Today I decided to check the bias again and now instead of reading 65ma as it was set, its closer to 10 ma on all the valves.
    (Some reading 12 and some 8).
    If i wind the pots to full i can got some of the valves to read correctly but not all of them, (I run out of adjustment)
    Ive tried the old tubes back where they came from but it didn't effect the readings.

I was hoping that someone out in AOS land had an idea what could have happened or be causing my problem.

Mick

I'm Phil.

it sounds like you need to get the valves checked out , although you have the bias adjustment its best to have valves closely matched , generally if they start to drift a lot it usually means they are wearing out , I have an avo mk2 valve tester and can check them for you , I think you need to start
    there first and at least rule them out cheers phil.
    Phil.

I'm Dan.

Did you replace all the 6550's including the one that is all by itself? If that one has failed, your amp won't bias.
    One other thing. At the risk of insulting you, make sure your bias procedure is correct, and make sure your meter is working properly. I once had a customer go around in circles biasing an amp, only to discover his meter wasn't working correctly.

I'm Mick.