+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HDMI problem

  1. #1
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 5,805
    I'm Dave.

    Default HDMI problem

    Just bought a Panasonic 50EX750B TV, which we are very happy with but I am not able to get sound from the HDMI 1 and 2 sockets. Picture works on these sockets but not sound. I can't find anything in the menus about this.

    Ideas please.

  2. #2
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: England

    Posts: 282
    I'm James.

    Default

    Here's the manual................
    https://www.manualslib.com/products/...b-8698884.html

    Troubleshooting on page 20 says to look at page 11. Something about if sound or picture not produced correctly try a different setting other than AUTO Mode.

    HDMI 2 is the ARC so could be that for that socket, but wouldn't sort HDMI 1 so probably not that.

    Factory Reset and try again. If still the same, return to vendor.

    It used to be more for picture problems but we used to get complaints which could be sorted by re-configuring the source component to the HDMI socket.
    Remove the device from HDMI 1 and manually select HDMI 1. No display. Select another Input and re-connect the device to HDMI 1. Manually select HDMI 1 and 'hey presto' (maybe!!).
    I'm sure it's changed since I was repairing them but most devices didn't like to be hot-plugged. The Manufacturers said it was OK but I saw lots of problems. It's a bind to power down when connecting and re-connecting but I always felt safer doing so. Just like in the AUDIO world. Maybe I'm a bit OCD in this but I haven't damaged any components yet by dis-connecting and re-connecting whilst the power is off !!

    Jim.

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 5,805
    I'm Dave.

    Default

    James.

    Thank you for the link and advice.

    We contacted John Lewis yesterday and they arranged for a repair company to contact us. They said it is a faulty "A board" and not a set up issue. So, John Lewis is replacing the TV as it is just a few days old.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: England

    Posts: 282
    I'm James.

    Default

    Great result, glad it's sorted.

    J.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 5,805
    I'm Dave.

    Default

    Thanks Jim.

    They installed a new Pioneer on Tuesday evening and it is AOK. All HDMI now functioning.

  6. #6
    Join Date: Aug 2016

    Location: Tynedale

    Posts: 69
    I'm David.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hifi_dave View Post
    Thanks Jim.

    They installed a new Pioneer on Tuesday evening and it is AOK. All HDMI now functioning.
    Hi Dave

    Did you mean new Pioneer? Ironically perhaps. I've just bought a new Panasonic 50EX750B TV and wanted to check the HDMI setting like you - e-help says look under the Setup menu for HDMI - I might be going mad but I can't see a setting for it. Updated firmware perhaps?

    Did you get the Panasonic sorted or did you really get a replacement Pioneer?

    DGP

  7. #7
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 5,805
    I'm Dave.

    Default

    Yes, that is the TV I have. Slip of the fingers on the keyboard - it's a Panasonic.

    John Lewis replaced the original TV and this time they sent a tech to do the job. He tried the original and couldn't get the HDMI 1 and 2 working. He thought it might be the HDMI lead I have as, apparently, they now have 'HD' leads, which are needed for HD TVs, bt that didn't work either.

    They swapped over to the replacement TV and once again couldn't get the HDMI 1 and 2 working. The tech took a couple of minutes going through the menus again and got them working.Now, I'm not sure and neither were they, whether the original was faulty or whether it was a setting in the menu and that is what I suspect.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Apr 2008

    Location: Warrington

    Posts: 2,892
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Interesting I tried to sort a neighbour's TV the other day, same issue. They are also getting a new TV sent.
    Mana Acoustics Racks / Bright Star IsoNodes Decoupling >> Custom Silent Media Server >> Halide Bridge USB (with AQVOX USB power) >> Pedja Rogic's Audial Model S DAC + Pioneer PL-71 turntable / Vista Audio phono-1 mk II / Denon PCL-5 headshell / Reson Reca >> LFD DLS >> LFD PA2M (SE) >> Royd RR3s.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Jul 2013

    Location: Kingsbury, NW London

    Posts: 1,017
    I'm Clive.

    Default

    It might be well worth googling the problem to see what the issue actually is.
    SOURCE:Cyrus Phono Signature+PSX-R,Cyrus StreamXSignature,Cyrus CDXtSignature, OPPO UDP-205 BluRay, SkyQ, Technics SL1210M5G/Achromat/MN Bearing/Isonoes with Boots/Origin Live Encounter Mk3A/Ortofon Cadenza Black or Hana SL or AT33PTG/II
    AMPLIFIER: Cyrus DAC XP Signature+PSX-R2, 2 x Cyrus Mono X300 Signature
    SPEAKERS: Spendor D7.
    HEADPHONES OPPO PM-1 with Atlas Zeno cable, Arcam rHead, B&W C5v2, Chord Mojo/Poly
    CABLES: Analogue: Speaker - Chord Signature. Interconnect - Atlas Mavros XLR, Chord Shawline XLR, Chord Indigo Tuned ARAY, Chord Indigo Plus.
    Digital: Missing Link Binary Star x2, Cyrus Digital, Chord Optichord.
    Mains: Chord Power Chord x5, Homemade SupraLoRad 1.5/MK/Wattgate x5, IsoTek Orion 6 way, Sounds Fantastic 6way Mains Blocks.
    STORAGE Synology DS216J NAS with 2 x 3Tb WD Red hard-drives.
    TV LG55B7 OLED

  10. #10
    Join Date: Dec 2014

    Location: UK, East Midlands

    Posts: 897
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Had a bunch of problems trying to get an Apple TV box recognised by my (new) Samsung 'smart' TV. The box worked fine with my monitor in the other room regardless of which HDMI cable I used but the Sammy refused to play ball, even with the same cables.
    I then tried a 'super duper' heavy duty HDMI cable I had in my cable box and presto! - worked straightaway and flawlessly since.

    Goes to show not all cables are created equally (or some such)

+ Reply to Thread



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •