+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Here's I..

I'm Steve.

Default Here's I..

I'm from Staffordshire in the UK. I've been into many different aspects of audio, vintage audio and video since 1977. These include vintage radio (30s - 60s), vintage TV (up to the early 50s), vintage video (all formats), vintage hifi (from valves to solid state) and 60s portable radios including large high spec ones. I use a 'normal' high quality, solid state set up for my every day listening; Quad 44/405, Sony tuner, Garrard 401/SME/Ortofon MC, Revox A77, Tandberg 440A cassette, Tannoy XT 6F speakers.

I'm a qualified electronics engineer and have worked in the electronics field all my life. I started as an electronics test engineer and morphed through sales and contracts to marketing communications (PR and advertising). Although retired I still write press releases for electronic components on a freelance basis.

I have built my own amplifier and speakers in the past and I have repaired just about any kind of audio equipment that you could mention, although I'm not the quickest or most intelligent of repairmen; a 'dogged' approach usually gets me there in the end! BTW, I don't do repairs as any form of job, just for myself on my own kit. As a musician I have also used recording studios many times and had my own 4-track home studio.

I tend to have fads on the different aspects of vintage audio, my present thing being large, powerful hifi receivers from the late 70s.

I'm John.

Hi Steve

A very warm welcome to you, sounds like you'll fit right in here with that list of interests and kit.

Hope you enjoy the forum.

I'm Rob.

Hi Steve, "an electronics engineer"......brilliant, just the sort guy we like. As to vintage I think a lot us here could be called vintage I have been "into" all things hifi since I was 11 years old. Look forward to seeing you posting here.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

https://youtu.be/ZCBe7-6rw4M