+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 45

Thread: Tidal - what a load of rubbish

  1. #31
    Join Date: Feb 2010

    Location: Berkshire, UK

    Posts: 2,004
    I'm Tom.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwardlon View Post
    Tom

    Not sure if the highlighted text relates to Itunes or JRiver? If JRiver then most definitely a user can change the sampling or not. The default is 'no change' but can be changed to anything one wants (subject to the DAC accepting the sample rate). Look in Tools under DSP and audio output functions.
    No Jriver. yes I have output encoding 'none' selected but that only concerns DSD .... I'm told it now converts everything to 24bit whether you want it to or not. Sample rate apparently can be controlled but not bit depth. (I need to constrain the sample rate as my AN DAC 'only' goes to 24/96 anyway).

    EDIT - some info in the Jriver WIKI

    https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    Specifically:

    <i>'When Media Center inputs data, all audio is first converted to 64bit. This ensures that any processing like digital volume, Replay Gain, or any other DSP (if any is enabled) is done with as much precision as possible. It also puts the data into a format that is efficient for a computer to handle, and makes it so that tracks of varying bitdepths can seamlessly transition. '</i>

    From https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    <i>'In older versions of Media Center, you'd set the Bitdepth setting explicitly here. Modern versions of Media Center set this automatically. '</i>

    So there is now no choice in the matter - it buggers around with the signal on the input to JRiver and there's no way to stop it doing that. Unlike previously. Arrogant sods.
    Speakers - 'RFC' Tannoy Canterburys with custom crossovers; Amp - Radford STA100; Preamp - EAR 912; Vinyl: Thorens TD124 MkII with Ikeda IT345-CR1 and Ortofon 309 Limited tonearms; Cartridges: Miyajima Madake, Zero Mono 0.7 and Premium 1.0 retipped by Ana Mighty Sound with bamboo cantilever, Ortofon SPU Royal N and Shure M3D with Jico stylus; phono stage and SUT from EAR 912; Esoteric Sound Re-Equalizer for equalisation of early mono and 78; Digital: Audio Note CDT2/II transport.

    'Wer nicht liebt Wein, Weib und Gesang der ist ein Narr sein Leben lang.'

  2. #32
    Join Date: Mar 2016

    Location: Barnet, london UK

    Posts: 291
    I'm Adam.

    Default

    Qobuz is a streaming AND download service, which I ascertained after signing up!
    It shows and teases lots of nice ECM catalogue titles, classical and jazz, so I handed over my corn to find out ..
    ECM is download only and won't steam on Qobuz... I felt quite swindled.. so cancelled.
    "lack of passion is fatal"
    LP12, Kore, Lingo2, Aro, SKale / DV XX2Mk2 / WAD 300b Power Modded, Mesh Plate Valves / David Coe AD Audio 'Satchmo' Pre & Phono / Hashimoto HM-7 SUT / AD Audio 'Little Gate' Jfet MC Cartridge Amp / Tannoy 12" MGs in Chatsworth size cabs / Speaker Cables: Duelund DCA16GA / Rpi3 & Digi + pro / SW1X Audio Design USB-SPdif / SW1X Audio Design DAC 1 Signature / Interconnects: Duelund DCA20GA home brew / SW1X Audio Phono SPDIF AERO 6 / David Coe AD Audio Silver USB / Synology NAS Drive / Tidal HiFi

  3. #33
    Join Date: Mar 2017

    Location: London N2

    Posts: 304
    I'm Edward.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by montesquieu View Post
    No Jriver. yes I have output encoding 'none' selected but that only concerns DSD .... I'm told it now converts everything to 24bit whether you want it to or not. Sample rate apparently can be controlled but not bit depth. (I need to constrain the sample rate as my AN DAC 'only' goes to 24/96 anyway).

    EDIT - some info in the Jriver WIKI

    https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    Specifically:

    <i>'When Media Center inputs data, all audio is first converted to 64bit. This ensures that any processing like digital volume, Replay Gain, or any other DSP (if any is enabled) is done with as much precision as possible. It also puts the data into a format that is efficient for a computer to handle, and makes it so that tracks of varying bitdepths can seamlessly transition. '</i>

    From https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    <i>'In older versions of Media Center, you'd set the Bitdepth setting explicitly here. Modern versions of Media Center set this automatically. '</i>

    So there is now no choice in the matter - it buggers around with the signal on the input to JRiver and there's no way to stop it doing that. Unlike previously. Arrogant sods.
    Ah I was just about to respond to your post before you added the edit.

    Yes I also leave Output encoding to 'none' as you say it relates to DSD. But I do take care with the sample rate setting ensuring anything over 192 is downsampled to a multiple of its class (44.1 or 48). So sample rate is user selectable.

    The fact that JRiver outputs at 24 or 32 bits will make zero difference to the sq. All it is doing is padding the word length with zeros. It is not adding or subtracting anything - unlike changing the sample rate.
    Source: Win10 server, Win10 Mini-ITX Renderer running JRiver
    DAC / Preamp: Perreaux DP32
    Amp: Radford Revival STA25, TubeHunter Class D IRS2092
    Speakers:, Kudos Cardea C2 (ex Westlover), Acoustic Research 8BX (modded)
    Power Conditioner: ISOtek Qube 1kw
    Currently resting: Chevron Paradox NDF16 DAC, Radford Revival Prototype preamp, Paul Baldwin 405C amp, Arcam 290P, Sony TA-VA8ES, PMC LB1 Signature, Micromega MyDac

  4. #34
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 36,603
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by montesquieu View Post
    No Jriver. yes I have output encoding 'none' selected but that only concerns DSD .... I'm told it now converts everything to 24bit whether you want it to or not. Sample rate apparently can be controlled but not bit depth. (I need to constrain the sample rate as my AN DAC 'only' goes to 24/96 anyway).

    EDIT - some info in the Jriver WIKI

    https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    Specifically:

    <i>'When Media Center inputs data, all audio is first converted to 64bit. This ensures that any processing like digital volume, Replay Gain, or any other DSP (if any is enabled) is done with as much precision as possible. It also puts the data into a format that is efficient for a computer to handle, and makes it so that tracks of varying bitdepths can seamlessly transition. '</i>

    From https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Bitdepth

    <i>'In older versions of Media Center, you'd set the Bitdepth setting explicitly here. Modern versions of Media Center set this automatically. '</i>

    So there is now no choice in the matter - it buggers around with the signal on the input to JRiver and there's no way to stop it doing that. Unlike previously. Arrogant sods.
    it goes in as 16/44 and comes out 16/44 for me unless I ask it otherwise.(sticking it up to 64 temp is just for processing purposes and shouldnt affect sound) Ive never used the dsd stuff. The headphone setting pops it up to 32 bit as far as I can see. I like the headphone setting in it but for headphones. i have a few settings set in different ssved sections and switch depending on where I send it. Some folk dont like doing this but to me its just the same as changing headphones or dac/speakers etc.
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTH - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - ECHO DOT - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  5. #35
    Join Date: Feb 2010

    Location: Berkshire, UK

    Posts: 2,004
    I'm Tom.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwardlon View Post
    Ah I was just about to respond to your post before you added the edit.

    Yes I also leave Output encoding to 'none' as you say it relates to DSD. But I do take care with the sample rate setting ensuring anything over 192 is downsampled to a multiple of its class (44.1 or 48). So sample rate is user selectable.

    The fact that JRiver outputs at 24 or 32 bits will make zero difference to the sq. All it is doing is padding the word length with zeros. It is not adding or subtracting anything - unlike changing the sample rate.
    I'd really rather it didn't do that. What I want is the option to play stuff out 100% in the native format I have on my hard drive, whatever it is (and it varies a lot depending where I sourced the file), rather than changing it. It used to do that, and now it doesn't.

    And yes aware of the issue of keeping sample rates to multiples.
    Speakers - 'RFC' Tannoy Canterburys with custom crossovers; Amp - Radford STA100; Preamp - EAR 912; Vinyl: Thorens TD124 MkII with Ikeda IT345-CR1 and Ortofon 309 Limited tonearms; Cartridges: Miyajima Madake, Zero Mono 0.7 and Premium 1.0 retipped by Ana Mighty Sound with bamboo cantilever, Ortofon SPU Royal N and Shure M3D with Jico stylus; phono stage and SUT from EAR 912; Esoteric Sound Re-Equalizer for equalisation of early mono and 78; Digital: Audio Note CDT2/II transport.

    'Wer nicht liebt Wein, Weib und Gesang der ist ein Narr sein Leben lang.'

  6. #36
    Join Date: Mar 2017

    Location: London N2

    Posts: 304
    I'm Edward.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by montesquieu View Post
    I'd really rather it didn't do that. What I want is the option to play stuff out 100% in the native format I have on my hard drive, whatever it is (and it varies a lot depending where I sourced the file), rather than changing it. It used to do that, and now it doesn't.

    And yes aware of the issue of keeping sample rates to multiples.

    But all it is are zeroes. But I do understand the purist angle.
    Source: Win10 server, Win10 Mini-ITX Renderer running JRiver
    DAC / Preamp: Perreaux DP32
    Amp: Radford Revival STA25, TubeHunter Class D IRS2092
    Speakers:, Kudos Cardea C2 (ex Westlover), Acoustic Research 8BX (modded)
    Power Conditioner: ISOtek Qube 1kw
    Currently resting: Chevron Paradox NDF16 DAC, Radford Revival Prototype preamp, Paul Baldwin 405C amp, Arcam 290P, Sony TA-VA8ES, PMC LB1 Signature, Micromega MyDac

  7. #37
    Join Date: Jan 2011

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Posts: 239
    I'm Stephen.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jandl100 View Post
    Spotify Premium is much better in regard to the metadata.
    I had parallel subs to Tidal and Spotify for 4 months and just let Tidal end, I had barely used it, much preferring Spot.
    You get the occasional classical music howler but they are few and far between, tbh.
    It's been my mains source for 2 or 3 years and I am over the moon with it. A fantastic way to discover and listen to music.
    Another Spotify user here. Love the way it interfaces with RuneAudio on the Rasperry Pi. I know there is testing going on at higher bitrates. So sound quality that's already very good may come up to Tidal's level.

  8. #38
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 36,603
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    It is being tested in beta.
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTH - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - ECHO DOT - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  9. #39
    Join Date: Apr 2008

    Location: Cheltenham U.K

    Posts: 333
    I'm John.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by montesquieu View Post
    It's missing LOADS of stuff though, not even one full set of Bach cantatas to be had, notably poorer than Tidal in this regard.
    I didn't actually count them, but most if not all of Suzuki's Bach Cantatas on BIS are available on Qobuz. (It may take a while for them all to load).

  10. #40
    Join Date: Feb 2010

    Location: Berkshire, UK

    Posts: 2,004
    I'm Tom.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonners View Post
    I didn't actually count them, but most if not all of Suzuki's Bach Cantatas on BIS are available on Qobuz. (It may take a while for them all to load).
    Well only about 3 came up on a search for Bach Cantatas or for Suzuki
    Speakers - 'RFC' Tannoy Canterburys with custom crossovers; Amp - Radford STA100; Preamp - EAR 912; Vinyl: Thorens TD124 MkII with Ikeda IT345-CR1 and Ortofon 309 Limited tonearms; Cartridges: Miyajima Madake, Zero Mono 0.7 and Premium 1.0 retipped by Ana Mighty Sound with bamboo cantilever, Ortofon SPU Royal N and Shure M3D with Jico stylus; phono stage and SUT from EAR 912; Esoteric Sound Re-Equalizer for equalisation of early mono and 78; Digital: Audio Note CDT2/II transport.

    'Wer nicht liebt Wein, Weib und Gesang der ist ein Narr sein Leben lang.'

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •