+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Room correction

I'm James.

Default Room correction

Do amps with so called Room Correction really work?
    novafidelity x40 music server/pre/dac, Arcam A39, roksan k3 power amp,Monitor Audio Monitor 50, Dali spektor 1, van damme interconnects and speaker cable, roskan k3 CD player

I'm Richie.

Not correction within an amp, but I have just bought a mike and am using the trial version of Dirac. I need to do a few more of the measurements to make sure I am doing it right (I am complete novice...).

When I apply the filter and listen to tunes, I feel like I can't tell the diff between the filter on and off, however, there have been several times this week when I have had a "fuck me, that sounds good" moment. I sef need more playing and more listening.

My speakers are close to the walls on three sides (hence the trial) and the measurements showed a real lack of low bass, then a massive spike at around 50hz.

Not much help, sorry, just interested in the conversation.

I'm Graham.

I use Dirac,my room before and after.Attachment 21487 red line is the default target,this can be adjusted,blue is my room measurement,green is after filter is applied,works a treat for me.
    Analogue. Basis signature 2200,Basis Vector 4.Koetsu Red,Koetsu SUT,NVO SPA 11.
    Digital. Denon 2900,Jolida FX 11
    Amp. Pathos Logos,Minidsp dirac 22A.
    Speakers. Amphion Xenon.
    Airlink CBS 2000 bps

I'm Chris.

I'm now using a Minisdsp DDRC-22D which has Dirac live and it has made a huge improvement to the sound.

Incredibly easy to use and does all the calculations for you.

I'm Richie.

Quote Originally Posted by GJO View Post
    I use Dirac,my room before and after.Attachment 21487 red line is the default target,this can be adjusted,blue is my room measurement,green is after filter is applied,works a treat for me.