+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Saying hello

I'm Richard.

Default Saying hello

Hi - looking to try a Chord 2qute after reading reviews.

I am relatively new to digital audio, having spent most of a past life in vinyl....then got distracted with other areas of life. Just rebuilt a system and want to improve an old DacMagic - coming from audirvana+tidal and an old macbook unibody.

any thoughts / comments on streamer vs dac improvements. I am driving ARCsP8 a 211 ongaku circuit SE and Heresy III speakers in a relatively large room,

Thanks,

R

I'm Rob.

Hi Richard, Welcome to another hifi-er from W Sussex (yes my location says Surrey as that is my postcode) I have one of the Hifi News modified original DacMagic's (is your's an original or one of up-sampling one's?) The HFN mods threw out all the voltage regs and most of caps and replaced them with higher quality ones (Oscon caps/Linear Technology Regulators). I have 6 Dacs and most of these accept 96kHz signals whereas the original DM only accepts up to 48kHz. I would not spend money on it as I think modern Dacs offer so much more. So far as streaming is concerned, I have been very impressed by the Google Chromecast using the OUT as a digital input to a Dac.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

https://youtu.be/ZCBe7-6rw4M

No Highs...No Lows....It Must Be Bose!

I'm Geoff.

Hello Richard. Welcome to AOS.

Take a look around the site, you'll find plenty to interest you and tell us what music you listen to.

For info on your DAC mods, why not start a thread in the Digital Expressions section with your questions?

http://theartofsound.net/forum/forum...al-Expressions

Enjoy the forum,
    Geoff.
    It is impossible for anything digital to sound analogue, because it isn't analogue!

I'm Richard.

Default thanks for reply

Quote Originally Posted by Puffin View Post