+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help needed with using Naim Nait 5i with turntable

I'm Hugh.

Default Help needed with using Naim Nait 5i with turntable

I have just bought a Naim Nait 5i second hand and being a novice I thought that the Nait range was an integrated amp and did not need a preamp but after a little more research it appears that the 1, 2 and 3 have phone inputs but not the 5 which has two tape inputs??? Do I need to buy a preamp to use this, I rearlly only listen to vinyl so should I have gone for a 1, 2 or 3 or can I get a preamp for a reasonable price. Secondly on arrival the amp appears to have a wobbly front which was not mentioned by the seller, I have emailed him and he said yes he knew and had been advised it was not a problem [ thanks for not telling me]. He has said I am welcome to send it back. Any advice welcomed, I have a sitting room full of packaging, cables etc and I cant even put a record on and open a beer My turntable is a rega planer 3 if that helps.

I'm Grant.

i'd send it back if your not happy. it shouldnt have an unknown to you wobbly bit. if you keep it then you need a phono amp. depending on your cartridge, either a mm or a mc or both if your thinking of changing carts. The inputs are all line level so a TT needs to be amplified to line level.
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    FIIO K7 BT, M11 PLUS, BTR7, KA5 - OPPO BDP-103D - PANASONIC UB450 - PANASONIC 4K ULTRA HD TV - PIXEL 6 - AVANTREE LR BLUETOOTH - 2* X600 SOUNDCORE - HEADPHONES INCLUDE, FIIO, NURAPHONES', FOCAL, OPPO, BOSE, CAMBRIDGE, BOWER & WILKINS, DEVIALET, MARSHALL, SONY, MITCHELL & JOHNSTON - 2*ZBOOK'S- MERCURY BD ROM, ROON, QOBUZ, TIDAL, PLEX, CYBERLINK, JRIVER - MULTI HDD'S -

Oh my god! There's nothing wrong with the bidet is there?