+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie - looking for speaker advice: Large room / Electrocompaniet gear

I'm Allan.

Default Newbie - looking for speaker advice: Large room / Electrocompaniet gear

Hi all,

Al here. I'm a newbie and I posted this in the welcome section yesterday, but was advised to post it here to get more responses..

I'll jump straight in at the deep end.. I've been thinking of changing my speakers and I could do with some advice. I have a large room to fill (20ftX20ft) and I'm after speakers to give me a bright, defined and large sound when coupled with the following:

(Old!) Logic Tempo TT / Datum tonearm - in perfect working order and setup with an Ortofon black mm.
    Puresound P10 phonostage.
    Astin Trew AT3500 CD player.
    Electrocompaniet 4.8 pre.
    Electrocompaniet 2X120 power.
    Castle Howard S2.

The castles are great and fill the room, but they are a little laid back for me and I want to modernise the setup a little and get a brighter sound (as my setup will allow). I generally play original 60's garage / soul / rock / avant vinyl and I generally have pretty good pressings. I move from that through to electronic artists on vinyl such as Trentemoller - which are generally newer pressings in good nick. Probably like most people here, I have a broad music palette and I'm after speakers that give me the details from the recording I'm playing.

I currently have a budget of about £800, but I could increase this to ~£1K in a few months or so. I'll leave it longer and save more £ for the right set.

By all means jump in and throw speaker advice at me - I'm a bit stuck at the moment!

I'm totally new to this type of forum, but I'm glad to be onboard.

Cheers,

Al

I'm Rob.