+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie - Looking for speaker advice

I'm Allan.

Default Newbie - Looking for speaker advice

Hi all,

Al here, I'm a newbie and this is my first post.

I'll jump straight in at the deep end.. I've been thinking of changing my speakers and I could do with some advice. I have a large room to fill (20ftX20ft) and I'm after speakers to give me a bright, defined and large sound when coupled with the following:

(Old!) Logic Tempo TT / Datum tonearm - in perfect working order and setup with an Ortofon black mm.
    Puresound P10 phonostage.
    Astin Trew AT3500 CD player.
    Electrocompaniet 4.8 pre.
    Electrocompaniet 2X120 power.
    Castle Howard S2.

The castles are great and fill the room, but they are a little laid back for me and I want to modernise the setup a little and get a brighter sound (as my setup will allow). I generally play original 60's garage / soul / rock / avant vinyl and I generally have pretty good pressings. I move from that through to electronic artists on vinyl such as Trentemoller - which are generally newer pressings in good nick. Probably like most people here, I have a broad music palette and I'm after speakers that give me the details from the recording I'm playing.

I currently have a budget of about £800, but I could increase this to ~£1K in a few months or so.

By all means jump in and throw speaker advice at me - I'm a bit stuck at the moment!

I'm totally new to this type of forum but I'm glad to be onboard. No doubt this post for advice should be posted somewhere else right?

Cheers,

Al

I'm Grant.

Hi and welcome Al. Maybe copy and paste your request into a new thread in main forum. More will see it
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....