+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Dubai...

I'm Nick.

Default Hello from Dubai...

...where it hit 51.5C on Saturday

Another refugee from AT where I'm/was known as "Jack" to differentiate me from the other Nick. Long time member there. Been to Owston, had stalls at Audio Jumble, done stuff.

AT, IMHO, has spiraled into the abyss - sad really - I have closed my account. One day, may go back - I hope to (as I really like most of the other members), but not while the current toxic & petty environment continues.

I'm an engineer! Background as an EE (with physics & maths) - long time designer of SS kit, last few years have decided I rather like valves, so work with them too.

Most certainly not a purist - I pick whatever technology I feel best suits the aims of the current project in terms of solutions and sound. I design & build speakers, amps, line stages, whatever - I just like to design & build the whole signal chain myself. I also like to (try to) understand why something sounds the way it does and consequently will always question absolutist statements. I've carried this ethos into designing & building our own eco-house, and we'll shortly be building another.

Having said that, the main house's distributed audio is all Raspberry Pi 3s, Max2play, Vortexbox, IQaudIO DigiAMP+and only the uFonkens are from the workshops Oh, and rebuilt Quad 405-2s & ESL63s and other amps, speakers & stuff... lots & lots of... stuff.

Audio is a small part of what I do - mainly it's micro-power IoT environmental monitoring (mostly using TI MSP430s and similar), beekeeping, security & IT for serious financial organisations, and drive in the desert, hike in wadis, climb mountains when we can and travel. We travel a lot.