+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: What Pre Amp to go for?

  1. #21
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,241
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    I see he's edited it to remove some of the most glaring errors but there is no such thing as "true impedance" and no "figure of merit" applicable to a passive and nor is there any way that specific values will affect the dynamic range... not without a compander hidden in the potentiometer!
    The worst (highest) output impedance is at the electrical midpoint of the pot (assuming a low source resistance), not the opposite as LDR's post originally hinted.
    To be pedantic, we are talking resistance not impedance when discussing a passive pot (and in this context specifically a passive pot), A few MHz would be the lowest frequency where impedance would be more suitable a term.
    Arkless Electronics-Engineered to be better. Tel. 01670 530674 (after 1pm)

    Modded Thorens TD150, Audio Technica AT-1005 MkII, Technics EPC-300MC, Arkless Hybrid MC phono stage, Arkless passive pre, Arkless 50WPC Class A SS power amp, (or) Arkless modded Leak Stereo 20, Modded Kef Reference 105/3's
    ReVox PR99, Studer B62, Ferrograph Series 7, Tandberg TCD440, Hitachi FT-5500MkI, also FT-5500MkII
    Digital: Yamaha CDR-HD1500 (Digital Swiss army knife-CD recorder, player, hard drive, DAC and ADC in one), PC files via 24/96 sound card and SPDIF, modded Philips CD850, modded Philips CD104, modded DPA Little Bit DAC. Sennheiser HD580 cans with Arkless Headphone amp.
    Cables- free interconnects that come with CD players, mains leads from B&Q, dead kettles etc, extension leads from Tesco

  2. #22
    Join Date: Mar 2017

    Location: London N2

    Posts: 102
    I'm Edward.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyb View Post

    <snip>

    Your thoughts, recommendations much appreciated.

    Mike.
    I had a similar question recently and got lots of useful feedback here.

    Ended up with a Radford Revival preamp - well pleased.

    Edward
    Source: Win10 server, Win10 Mini-ITX Renderer running JRiver
    DAC: Chevron Paradox NDF16 DAC
    Preamp: Radford Revival Prototype
    Amp: Radford Revival STA25, Paul Baldwin 405C
    Speakers: PMC LB1 Signature, Acoustic Research 8BX (modded)
    Cables/stands: Quad / Target etc
    Power Conditioner: ISOtek Qube

  3. #23
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: KY - Scotland

    Posts: 1,981
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwardlon View Post
    I had a similar question recently and got lots of useful feedback here.

    Ended up with a Radford Revival preamp - well pleased.

    Edward
    thanks for the link, I've now decided that the best way to go would be to add a Headphone amp via RCA in from the Slagle Pre and forego the remote ( unless the HA came with one ), so I am now browsing various reviews for a decent Headphone amp that goes well with the rest of my system.

    Irony is I've owned a couple in the past and sold them on when I wasn't needing them lol

  4. #24
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 33,878
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    plenty good headphone amps for not much money these days mike. ive 2 chinese ones and both are great
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.7- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - TANDBERG TCD310 CASS - CARTS.. ACD xlm mk1 integra, AT95 Shibata, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  5. #25
    Join Date: Sep 2013

    Location: North Island New Zealand

    Posts: 812
    I'm Chris.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I see he's edited it to remove some of the most glaring errors but there is no such thing as "true impedance" and no "figure of merit" applicable to a passive and nor is there any way that specific values will affect the dynamic range... not without a compander hidden in the potentiometer!
    The worst (highest) output impedance is at the electrical midpoint of the pot (assuming a low source resistance), not the opposite as LDR's post originally hinted.
    To be pedantic, we are talking resistance not impedance when discussing a passive pot (and in this context specifically a passive pot), A few MHz would be the lowest frequency where impedance would be more suitable a term.
    I have not edited anything.

  6. #26
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: glasgow

    Posts: 1,749
    I'm tony.

    Default

    Mike why dont you get Colin to hot rod your TQ CLAYMORE. Head phone /DAC/Phono section are all excellent plus youve already got a remote. Ive had a few HPAs and Dacs the Tq Claymore is by far and away the best ive tried.

    Failing that the q20 pre would be a perfect match and within budget-bet the headphone section would be stellar!!!

  7. #27
    Join Date: Sep 2013

    Location: North Island New Zealand

    Posts: 812
    I'm Chris.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    So it's fine to repeatedly and regularly mislead AOS members with blatantly incorrect falsehoods shrouded in a bit of technical sounding gobbledygook to make it sound plausible is it? "False news" (to make it topical) welcome but calling it out and ridiculing it not? If it were up to me I'd do something about a trade member repeatedly proffering false information and advice which is very definitely WRONG... or does he have to advise sticking a finger in a mains socket before anything happens?
    No. just saving forum members lives when it actually matters : http://theartofsound.net/forum/showt...t=oscilloscope

  8. #28
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: KY - Scotland

    Posts: 1,981
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    I've managed to sort of fix this issue by digging out the NuForce iOS DAC/Headphone amp that I was selling. It's not ideal as I can only run my iPad through it as it's an iOS only input on it, but it will do the job for just now and once I get my Vivant Phono stage back from loan I'll get the Slagle hooked up again and that should be my output side sorted for a little while 😊

    The NuForce DAC is pretty decent, pretty close to my Pi/Boss Dac setup with the added bonus of Headphone out.

  9. #29
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 572
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Light Dependant Resistor View Post
    No. just saving forum members lives when it actually matters : http://theartofsound.net/forum/showt...t=oscilloscope
    True, you were advocating safety, but your assertion that the mains cannot be measured directly with an oscilloscope was plain wrong.

  10. #30
    Join Date: Sep 2013

    Location: North Island New Zealand

    Posts: 812
    I'm Chris.

    Default

    But it remains that it is not safe to do so. The emphasis is surely for AOS members, should be to start with safe methods, not to create
    enthusiasm for what is potentially a lethal form of measurement.

    http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/equip...questions.html

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •