+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: A noob question.

  1. #1
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: Cheshire / Norfolk

    Posts: 44
    I'm Tony.

    Default A noob question.

    I'm hesitating to ask this, but if I don't ask, I'm not going to find out ...

    I'm not a hifi-ist, but my Father was. I'm currently trying to work out exactly what he had, and whether to keep or sell.

    He used Nordost power cables from a Taga distribution block into the back of his equipment. But rather than than the "kettle" lead connectors that I was expecting (or captive power leads plumbed into the back of each unit) his CD player and pre amp (and probably the rest - I didn't check it all) have two prong style mains sockets??

    Did he get these converted in some way to use the Nordost cables?

    If I sell power cables (as they seem to be pricey) what would I replace them with?

    The CD player is a Marantz KI Pearl Lite, and the preamp is an Audiolab 8000c, in case that matters.

  2. #2
    Join Date: Sep 2014

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Posts: 577
    I'm John.

    Default

    Sounds like European Schuko connectors. The advantage of these is there's no fuse in the plugs so are arguably better sounding.

  3. #3
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: vancouver

    Posts: 642
    I'm danilo.

    Default

    Seems yer Dad drank the Audio Kool Aid at some point.
    Sell them on then buy yourself a decent Single Malt ant toast yer Father.
    Simple stoopid wires just like the ones that the Gear builders supplied will work.. Well!
    My audio bits: Thorens / diy phono, CD/dvd player(s), diy pre, F6, Tannoy Golds in my boxes / my xovers, and of course all strung together with basic diy Wires
    Lots of Cd's, yet more audio files, a couple of hundred semi worn Lps.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: Cheshire / Norfolk

    Posts: 44
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    The plug end is a standard UK 3 prong plug - it's the end that plugs into the CD / pre-amp / etc that looks different to what I expected.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 26,854
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Why not post a photo here Tony.
    Mr. Tact!

    Main system: MMs/ADCs/Low output MC's/One rare Japanese SUT/One scarce British phono stage/various tonearms/hefty Japanese DD TT and hefty Japanese BD TT and small British BD TT. 4 CD players/2 jitter buster/2 DACs/Valve buffer. TVC stepped attenuator or valve pre-amp or solid state pre-amp. Current dumping power-amp or either of two Class A SS power-amp or Class A EL34 valve monos or big Japanese (part Class A) integrated. Big dual concentric speakers/Smaller dual concentric speakers/Two way British compacts and full range speakers, amongst others. And too much more to list!

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: Cheshire / Norfolk

    Posts: 44
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    Why not post a photo here Tony.
    Because I didn't think to take a photo of that particular part, and the equipment and I are about 200 miles apart now.

  7. #7
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Birmingham, U.K

    Posts: 247
    I'm Taz.

    Default

    Hi Tony,

    The 2 pronged cables will​ most likely be for connecting each unit to each other and you'll have one standard 3 pin UK plug to run from the mains (going into the amp). If it is this then each unit will need to be earthed, usually from​ a little screw on the back of each chassis.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 15,663
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    What shape are the socket apertures Tony?

    If they are rectangular 'slots' designed to take a plug with flat blade-shaped prongs, then that is the standard mains socket used in the USA.
    Have you listened to this month's choice in the Album Club?

    Barry

  9. #9
    Join Date: Sep 2011

    Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Scotland

    Posts: 275
    I'm stuart.

    Default

    Can you google 'mains connector' then click on the images tab and then send us a link to the picture that matches what you have?

  10. #10
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: Cheshire / Norfolk

    Posts: 44
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    I'll be back there next week. I'll take photos and post them here then. My mistake - I'd assumed that it was an obvious thing with an easy / obvious answer!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •