+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Adjusting Linear Power Supply?

  1. #11
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Hertford, Hertfordshire, UK

    Posts: 219
    I'm Adam.

    Default

    I have the same supply as you with 15v and 5v.

    Mine arrive as specified but does occasionally drift so I leave the top allen keys undone so I can adjust more easily.

    BTW my left display (when looked at from the front) is 15.0v (to one decimal place). I can always get it to 15.0v with a little patience.

    ..and the right display is 5.00v (to two decimal places). This tends to drift more because of the greater accuracy needed for 2 decimal places.

    BTW don't feel embarrassed about not seeing the adjustment screws. My 50 year old eyes did not spot them either. I sent a photograph to Stan for help. When I viewed the photo lit up brilliantly by the flash it was more obvious though.

    Also as the voltage cockup was down to the seller. I would say there is a good case for them letting you keep the existing power supply and sending you another. That way you can use the existing one for now on the SEG only whilst waiting for the replacement. Once the new one arrives you can then keep the wrong voltage one as a spare or use it to power other stuff.
    Last edited by Theadmans; 07-06-2017 at 17:42.
    Adam.

  2. #12
    Join Date: Apr 2017

    Location: Bristol

    Posts: 75
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    Hi Adam

    Is your 5v transformer the same as my one in the pic.

    Mine wont go below 10.7v?
    VPI Scout 1.1, Ortofon Quintet Bronze, Trigon Vanguard I, SB Touch, Beresford Caiman SEG, Modified Yaqin MC-100B and Rega RS3

  3. #13
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,647
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    It won't... and if it did it would overheat big time.

  4. #14
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Hertford, Hertfordshire, UK

    Posts: 219
    I'm Adam.

    Default

    Ok the green transformer on my PSU on the right is Part M15-01B. I assume this is the one giving me 5v as it is behind the 5.00v LED. I cannot see the part number on yours in the photo as it is obscured by the wiring. However, the output voltages look the same as mine. Is yours M15-01B?

    The other transformer on the left I have part number M15-04 whereas you have M15-03. Here my output voltages are listed as 15v/7.5va whereas yours are 12v/7.5va.

    Are you trying to get 5v on the left or the right LED? My 5v is on the right LED.
    Adam.

  5. #15
    Join Date: Apr 2017

    Location: Bristol

    Posts: 75
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    Yes the one on the right is the M15-01B but doesn't seem to want to drop voltage below 10.7.

    The supplied lead also doesn't fit the SBT, not that I would connect it to this anyway.

    You right the one on the left is meant to be for 12v unlike yours and not what I asked for.

    Despite this it is sitting stable at 14.9v without a stutter.

    I've emailed the seller, so will see what they say.
    VPI Scout 1.1, Ortofon Quintet Bronze, Trigon Vanguard I, SB Touch, Beresford Caiman SEG, Modified Yaqin MC-100B and Rega RS3

  6. #16
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,647
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Theadmans View Post
    Ok the green transformer on my PSU on the right is Part M15-01B. I assume this is the one giving me 5v as it is behind the 5.00v LED. I cannot see the part number on yours in the photo as it is obscured by the wiring. However, the output voltages look the same as mine. Is yours M15-01B?

    The other transformer on the left I have part number M15-04 whereas you have M15-03. Here my output voltages are listed as 15v/7.5va whereas yours are 12v/7.5va.

    Are you trying to get 5v on the left or the right LED? My 5v is on the right LED.
    For 5V you will need the 7.5V transformer and will also need to locate a fixed resister coming from the "Adj" (adjust) pin on the regulator to the trimmer pot and reduce it by approx x 3 in value. Doing just the latter will enable you to set it to 5V but it will overheat like a twat.... and the transformer probably won't last long...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •