+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: Media Streaming Options

  1. #21
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 34,581
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diceman View Post
    Presumably there is no direct way to attach the hard drive with media on it to the RPI? Thereby doing away with the NAS and network switch.
    sure you can and many do. it has 4 usb slots on it. Thats how I connect mine
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.7- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - TANDBERG TCD310 CASS - CARTS.. ACD xlm mk1 integra, AT95SA Shibata, SHURE N55 SAS, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  2. #22
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 2,932
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diceman View Post
    Presumably there is no direct way to attach the hard drive with media on it to the RPI? Thereby doing away with the NAS and network switch.
    Absolutely there is, but I prefer to use my NAS, as I have RAID backup etc. and my FLAC library also available for my laptops and PC...

    You can choose either a local USB mount point, or a network NAS one...I did a head to head speed test between a local USB HD and my NAS (both pi and NAS on ethernet), with the same flac library on each, the local HD was only about 10% quicker, so I've stuck with the NAS
    Cheers, Will

  3. #23
    Join Date: Jun 2014

    Location: Plymouth, UK

    Posts: 260
    I'm Barry.

    Default

    I now use a usb drive with my pi, I use to get terrible problems with WiFi when using my NAS.

  4. #24
    Join Date: Jan 2011

    Location: Wiltshire

    Posts: 89
    I'm Alastair.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    AS Chris states, plus a few other suggestions...

    1. Use dbPoweramp to rip, its tagging, artwork, and accurate rip capabilities are much better than EAC...

    2. You can easily 'beef up' LMS performance by installing piCoreplayer/LMS on a Rpi3, then point it at your NAS music library...my pi3 did a complete new index build of 3k flac cds in under 30 mins, and a new music rescan in under 3 mins, faster than when I ran LMS on my NAS.

    3. Use a smartphone app to control it all, my preference is 'Orange Squeeze' but there are plenty of options

    4. Staying with an open source architecture future proofs you, and allows you the flexibility of Rpi/DIY clients and players too...LMS now has end point for Chromecast Audio
    +1 This is pretty much my set-up. You could also consider replacing the NAS with a local USB drive connected to the RPI or (if your budget will stretch to it) a 1 TB SSD.
    Regards

    Alastair

    RPi3 & piCorePlayer, Ankaka Battery -> Beresford Caiman II DAC (with Venom & Gator Mod) -> Beresford Capella as Pre-Amp -> 4x Temple Audio Monoblocks ->Van Damme Black Bi-Wired to B&W 804 Nautilus and Van Damme Interconnects (everything battery powered)

  5. #25
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: vancouver

    Posts: 642
    I'm danilo.

    Default

    digression; Only other person I've known who uses the name Alp. He's of claimed Turkish origins, yet a blue eyed Arian (germanic variety of Yore) in appearance.
    Gotta be a back story in that I would imagine. Just never ever seen that name elsewhere.. previously.
    My audio bits: Thorens / diy phono, CD/dvd player(s), diy pre, F6, Tannoy Golds in my boxes / my xovers, and of course all strung together with basic diy Wires
    Lots of Cd's, yet more audio files, a couple of hundred semi worn Lps.

  6. #26
    Join Date: Apr 2008

    Location: Warrington

    Posts: 2,381
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Mini ITX motherboard with a SoC built in like the Gigabyte J1800N, Super Flower Leadex Gold 750W ATX PSU, 8GB RAM, SSD, SATA or USB CD drive, and a nice case. I use Windows 10 on mine.
    Mana Acoustics Racks >> Custom Silent Media Server >> Halide Bridge USB (with AQVOX USB power) >> Pedja Rogic's Audial Model S DAC + Pioneer PL-71 turntable / Vista Audio phono-1 mk II / Denon PCL-5 headshell / Reson Reca >> LFD DLS >> LFD PA2M (SE) >> Royd RR3s.

  7. #27
    Join Date: Dec 2010

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 91
    I'm jp.

    Default

    Thank you all for your input.

    I haven't quite decided what to do yet but I'm erring toward a USB Ssd directly attached to the sbt and connecting it directly to the main wifi network as a first step. Having fired the damn thing up for the first time in 18 months I've realised another of my main issues was that I could never get an iPad or phone to easily connect to the network that way and navigation was painful via the remote.

    Second phase I think will be to look at building / reconfiguring the old htpc as a vortexbox as that will solve the ripping issue and may prove to be long term solution to all but we will see, it may just end up being a dead end but we will see. I'm a little bit stuck on how to output a digital audio signal from a vortexbox via coax as it seems they are all USB only to dac?

  8. #28
    Join Date: Jan 2011

    Location: Wiltshire

    Posts: 89
    I'm Alastair.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danilo View Post
    digression; Only other person I've known who uses the name Alp. He's of claimed Turkish origins, yet a blue eyed Arian (germanic variety of Yore) in appearance.
    Gotta be a back story in that I would imagine. Just never ever seen that name elsewhere.. previously.
    The only similarity with me is the eye colour...
    Regards

    Alastair

    RPi3 & piCorePlayer, Ankaka Battery -> Beresford Caiman II DAC (with Venom & Gator Mod) -> Beresford Capella as Pre-Amp -> 4x Temple Audio Monoblocks ->Van Damme Black Bi-Wired to B&W 804 Nautilus and Van Damme Interconnects (everything battery powered)

  9. #29
    Join Date: Dec 2008

    Location: Berks

    Posts: 59
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diceman View Post
    Thank you all for your input.

    I haven't quite decided what to do yet but I'm erring toward a USB Ssd directly attached to the sbt and connecting it directly to the main wifi network as a first step. Having fired the damn thing up for the first time in 18 months I've realised another of my main issues was that I could never get an iPad or phone to easily connect to the network that way and navigation was painful via the remote.

    Second phase I think will be to look at building / reconfiguring the old htpc as a vortexbox as that will solve the ripping issue and may prove to be long term solution to all but we will see, it may just end up being a dead end but we will see. I'm a little bit stuck on how to output a digital audio signal from a vortexbox via coax as it seems they are all USB only to dac?
    Im sure Home Plugs would be a lot more reliable than using wifi for the Touch, I dont use them in my house as I cable everything and only use wifi for the pnone/tablet control, I will let others comment on whether its a good idea for sound quality. I would test that usb connection before buying a large SSD though, I used to connect my Touch this way then it stopped scanning the library, If memory serves me mr swenson said it was probably the size of my album art, I have too big a library to go through and remove it all so my server sits on another pc running 24/7 for Subsonic access anyway.
    SB Touch, Schiit Gungnir Multibit, AVI Lab Series S21, Custom Speakers, Original Rega RP3 with S shaped arm- 33rpmengineering Sub Platter and bearing, Michael Lim double Pulley, TransFi Reso-Mat. Various TDA1541 CDP's, too much shit I dont use to list.

  10. #30
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: Switerland

    Posts: 1,133
    I'm rupert.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by diceman View Post
    Thank you all for your input.

    ..... Having fired the damn thing up for the first time in 18 months I've realised another of my main issues was that I could never get an iPad or phone to easily connect to the network that way and navigation was painful via the remote.
    My gut feeling is that your network is not as robust as it could be. If you have access to the router, you could maybe get some statistics (errors, drops, etc.) and determine what the problem is. IMHO, that is the first step to insure a frustration free listening experience. Just my 2cts

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •