+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: USB 2 length

  1. #1
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default USB 2 length

    Hi all
    I have a 5 metre USB 2 cable running from computer to my dac,
    It sounds ok,
    Would there be any errors or problems arising from the length???

    Some say it won't make any difference because it's no an audio signal but date.

    Any opinions?????

  2. #2
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 35,525
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    should be fine at 5 metres. if in doubt you can change it for a repeater cable that boosts the signal. I use one although its a 10 metre one similar to this. I didnt need 10 but it was smallest I could find and 5 was a bit tight
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  3. #3
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    A bit tight?????

    What is repeater cable?

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    Struth
    if USB had errors would it just drop the connection. Or would it manafest itself as distorted sound.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 35,525
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terrys99 View Post
    A bit tight?????

    What is repeater cable?
    yes a 5 meter would stretch but it wsnt tidy so I went bigger. 5 meter is, I think the maximum without a repeater which boosts the signal somehow. not sure how it works but it does
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  6. #6
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 35,525
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terrys99 View Post
    Struth
    if USB had errors would it just drop the connection. Or would it manafest itself as distorted sound.
    think its a question of power and thus signal degredation
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Feb 2009

    Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

    Posts: 51
    I'm Jim.

    Default

    I am using a 10m USB cable with no repeater and it works fine, bought it for peanuts on ebay, less than a fiver, the industry standard limit is 5m for USB but I've had no issues.
    Jim.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    Iam not sure if the 5 metres iam using s is lowering the volume slightly.

    There's no dropouts or distortion,
    I have just ordered a USB active repeater cable,

    I always thought that data is data, If there's a promblem then it works or doesn't. Unlike rca.

    As I understand it Rca is audio stream, and usb packet data,
    Therefore sound quality over USB cannot diminish. Perhaps jitter would be a problem.
    Will see what the repeater does.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 35,525
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Not sure tbh. I thought to be better on safe side so bought a 10m repeater. in fact I bought 2 and use both on occasion. Not had any trouble with either
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    thanks all!

+ Reply to Thread



 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •