+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dsd to pcm 352khz

  1. #1
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default Dsd to pcm 352khz

    Is there really a loss of quality converting dsd to 352khz pcm?
    After converting a track, I noticed vocals. And midrange sounds more up front.
    Why would this be?

  2. #2
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 32,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Dunno, never got dsd working with my dac. think its the drivers which wont install. i converted a album to dsd but it wouldnt play lol, so i gave up.
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.6- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 & HEAVILY MODDED MF X10v3. BERESFORD SWITCHBOX. - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - CREEK OBH-11SE HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES, KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - TANDBERG TCD310 - CARTS.. AT95 Shibata, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  3. #3
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    Oh. I see.
    Which dac?

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 32,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Its an smsl m6 .. excellent dac/ headphone amp that does dsd. You get dsd dtivers but windows wont install them. Tbh im happy enough upscaling anyway so just gonna leave it as such.. sound etc is superb i have to say and was considering trying one of there bigger ones.
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.6- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 & HEAVILY MODDED MF X10v3. BERESFORD SWITCHBOX. - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - CREEK OBH-11SE HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES, KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - TANDBERG TCD310 - CARTS.. AT95 Shibata, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    Your drivers should install, run installer has admin ,
    If it still fails, go to windows temp folder and remove all in there,

    Usually what happens is the driver may have had a glitch , this leaves a damaged file that your driver left behind, while it was setting up.

    You could go go device drivers and see what's showing,

    If I had that problem it would piss me off.

  6. #6
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Wakefield west yorkshire

    Posts: 860
    I'm James.

    Default

    My server does dsd but I've never looked in to it, is it like upsampling or does the recording have to be in dsd like sacd? Jim
    cambridge audio azur 651w power amp, novafidelity x40 music server/pre/dac, wharfedale diamond 10.1[suprisingly good]
    , van damme blue series interconnects, van damme studio blue 4mm speaker cable, klotz mc 5000 ,klotz silver hybrid, thanks Brian, fisual hollywood optical cable,, pioneer bdp170, akg k 550

  7. #7
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 32,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default Dsd to pcm 352khz

    Quote Originally Posted by terrys99 View Post
    Your drivers should install, run installer has admin ,
    If it still fails, go to windows temp folder and remove all in there,

    Usually what happens is the driver may have had a glitch , this leaves a damaged file that your driver left behind, while it was setting up.

    You could go go device drivers and see what's showing,

    If I had that problem it would piss me off.
    It didn't take the driver. It used a windows one I think. I tried to get it to change but it just automatically goes back to the first. Uninstalled driver but then I show it the dsd one it ignores it and takes the original again. Sure there will be a way but win 10 is fairly new to me and I don't want to screw with it lol
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.6- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 & HEAVILY MODDED MF X10v3. BERESFORD SWITCHBOX. - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - CREEK OBH-11SE HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES, KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - TANDBERG TCD310 - CARTS.. AT95 Shibata, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 32,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pieoftheday View Post
    My server does dsd but I've never looked in to it, is it like upsampling or does the recording have to be in dsd like sacd? Jim
    You need a dsd recording. Don't think it does it on the fly
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.6- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 & HEAVILY MODDED MF X10v3. BERESFORD SWITCHBOX. - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS. - CREEK OBH-11SE HEADPHONE AMP. -AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES, KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - TANDBERG TCD310 - CARTS.. AT95 Shibata, SHURE M55E original, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: U.K.

    Posts: 39
    I'm Terry.

    Default

    looking at the specs for your dac

    USB Input: 16bit-32bit / 32kHz-384kHz (asynchronous)
    Optical fiber, coaxial: 16bit-24bit / 32kHz-192kHz

    It won't play dsd native,
    But if you played a dsd or sacd from jriver or foobar2000 you can set up to play at 384khz with should sound good.

    Or play has dop the quality would be indentical to dsd

  10. #10
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Wakefield west yorkshire

    Posts: 860
    I'm James.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    You need a dsd recording. Don't think it does it on the fly
    Thank you
    cambridge audio azur 651w power amp, novafidelity x40 music server/pre/dac, wharfedale diamond 10.1[suprisingly good]
    , van damme blue series interconnects, van damme studio blue 4mm speaker cable, klotz mc 5000 ,klotz silver hybrid, thanks Brian, fisual hollywood optical cable,, pioneer bdp170, akg k 550

+ Reply to Thread



 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •