+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Plugging your power amps into a bog standard power strip

  1. #1
    Join Date: Feb 2017

    Location: Sussex

    Posts: 324
    I'm Simon.

    Default Plugging your power amps into a bog standard power strip

    I just took my cyrus mono x200 signature power amps out of my crappy tacima 35 power bar and plugged them into a 10 bog standard power bar. Wanted to see what would happen.

    I'm hearing more decent detail and bass punch and I suspect the choke on the Tacima, or whatever it is - that donut shaped thing, is really affecting the power amps to draw best current off the mains.

    Has anyone tried doing this in a good set up. Just reverting to bog standard power strips for power amps.

    God I need a decent mains conditioner with common mode filtering etc I think.......

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2011

    Location: Glasgow

    Posts: 6,267
    I'm Brian.

    Default

    I use this Simon http://www.custom-hifi-cables.co.uk/...er-conditioner

    Have a word with Sean , he's very helpful .
    Regards
    Brian

    Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment . (Rumi )


    Korus Computer Audio music server .
    DAC 3 French DAC
    Amplifier : Rega Brio R
    Speakers : Tannoy 637
    Interconnects : MS Audio / Klotz MC5000 .
    Speaker cables : Chord Epic Twin

  3. #3
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 17,782
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    I always run the power amp straight into the wall socket. IME sticking any socket board in between the power amp and the wall socket degrades performance noticeably.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 36,392
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    My big belkin box has a power amp socket on it which is high current, so always used that
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTH - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - ECHO DOT - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 17,782
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    I have a Belkin with a socket labelled 'amplifier' but I don't trust it to be doing anything different. You've got a double wall socket, power amp into one, power strip in the other and run all the stuff that doesn't mind off that. I've tried conditioners and balanced mains and they all made the sound worse so I figure there is nothing wrong with my leccy.

    I have plugged the power amp into the mains block by accident a few times. Every time I could tell something was up almost straight away so that's as good as a blind test in my book. I don't listen at background level though, suppose you might not notice it as much if you listen at low levels.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  6. #6
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 36,392
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    yeah mine is marked high current amp I think. Good disto box. the cable on it is rediculously thick
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTH - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, SPOTIFY PREMIUM - ECHO DOT - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED AND FILTERED.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Aug 2011

    Location: Coventry, England UK

    Posts: 419
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    Definitely run your power amps directly into a wall socket. I ran my monos through a surge protector/filter for well over a year and when I had been given advice to run directly from the wall I heard a noticable difference, mainly in the dynamic shifts and overall slam (fatter kick drums being a big giveaway).

  8. #8
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: Alicante. Spain.

    Posts: 1,218
    I'm Adrian.

    Default

    Mine are hard wired to their own spur.
    Technics SP10 mk2
    Jan Allaerts MC 1 Boron mk1 cart
    Miyajima Shilabe cart
    Hashimoto HM-X SUT
    Siggwan (gimballed not unipivot) Cocobola 12"
    Aurorasound Vida LCR Phonostage
    The Truth linestage
    Dave Slagle Autoformer Volume Controller
    Cary 805c SET amps
    Audio Note ANe-SPX speakers
    Townshend Isolda speaker cables
    Cardas Golden Presence interconnects

  9. #9
    Join Date: Aug 2016

    Location: Kent UK

    Posts: 148
    I'm Paul.

    Default

    I always suspect these are the sort of item designed for a particular type of owner, you know they type, the one who claims they can hear a difference between two sets of 1,000 interconnects.

    If your equipment is designed to work on standard mains then unless there is something wrong with your mains supply these things are pointless.

    But no one especially those Audiophools that spend a fortune on them will admit to that will they

    And still no one after all these years sees why Audiophiles are the but of so many jokes. Even when the tweeter video posted the other day and no one guessed it was poking fun at them even when it showed the group in the room moving an inch left or right forward or backwards trying to find the sweet spot and still no one could see the film maker was taking the pee.
    Current setup Thorens TD-160 Mk1 with Denon DL-110 MC Cartridge, Pioneer A-70 Amp, Yamaha AX-592 Amp, Yamaha CDX-710 CD Player, Pioneer PD-4300 CD Player, Monitor Audio Bronze 5 speakers, Van-Damme Cables throughout.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Dec 2008

    Location: Lincolnshire, Home by the Sea

    Posts: 3,600
    I'm Shaun.

    Default

    I used a Tacima filtered whatnot for about four years and when I eventually removed it the difference without it was amazing. Since then (2009) I have plugged my pre and power straight into a wall socket. It may not really matter but I am OK with things the way they are in my system
    Marantz CD6005 into Audiolab MDAC
    Nottingham Analogue Interspace turntable with Origin Live Onyx tonearm/Denon DL103/Dynavector P75 MkIII phono stage

    Prima Luna Prologue preamp
    Prima Luna Dialogue Premium power amp/EL34

    B&W CM8 S2 loudspeakers

    Atlas Hyper interconnects
    Van Den Hul Teatrack biwired cables

    Anything Ozric Tentacles based

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •