+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Impedance Matching/Mismatch

  1. #21
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 30,887
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Does it get very loud very quickly?
    Last edited by struth; 19-04-2017 at 14:56.
    Regards,
    Grant ....
    Sometimes incompetence is useful. It helps you keep an open mind.
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    IMUTO TAURUS X4 BATTERY SUPPLY. - RPI2B & AUDIOPHONICS DAC running MOODE 3.5- TONBRUX BATTERY SUPPLY & CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no1 - JBE SERIES 3 SLATEDECK & EMOTIVA XPS-1 PHONO - DENON DV2900 & HEAVILY MODDED MF X10v3. - PIONEER SA8100 AMPLIFIER. - WIN10 JRIVER22, SPOTIFY PREMIUM- AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 HEADPHONES, KINPS CABLES, SMSL M6 MINIDAC, CHROMECAST2 AUDIO DONGLE no2 POWERED BY ANKER BATTERY PSU - FULL RANGE TWIN & SINGLE TELEFUNKEN's - CARTS.. AT95S, SHURE M55E, JVC MD1029. - RCA CABLES BY BRIAN SPKR CABLES BY MOI HAIR BY MARCO FEET BY ELECTRICBEACH - MAINS REGENERATED BY POWERINSPIRED AND FILTERED BY BELKIN PUREAV.

  2. #22
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Belfast/Northern Ireland/UK

    Posts: 15,336
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_LDT View Post
    That's what I'm thinking to try. I don't think many passives have tape outs, from those I've seen/read about.



    I don't have many different interconnects around but I did try 4 different ones and no luck (Van Damme, Klotz MC500 and Mark Grant's Canare & G1000HD).
    I recall years ago coming across a similar issue that was solved via a cable swap, the fact you have tried several with no change shows its not that. It was a very long shot though.

    I have however had problems with kit with very high output overloading inputs which manifests in a similar way to how you described. Sometimes companies are not totally honest with their specs. First time I tried a Chord DAC 64 many years ago it overloaded the input on the amp I was using at the time. That company subsequently changed the amp design to accommodate higher output sources.

    Some modern highly compressed and loud CDs can tip things too, what is just on the edge of being ok with normal CDs can be overloaded by this type of CD.
    Regards Neil

  3. #23
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 381
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    There is still something not right here whatever "cure" is used.... No modern amp should be overloaded by a CD player (or other digital source with 2V output) as this is the de facto "standard" input these days!
    I agree. I wonder how long the mkI version was available and why it's been superseded by the mkII. Even so, how would it even get to market if it can't handle 2V? And where in the chain is its volume control? If it was the first thing the signal encountered it would be a simple matter to turn it down to prevent overload.
    On the assumption that it's only quite small/light, maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to send it to Jez for checking out and/or repair.

  4. #24
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 3,638
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RothwellAudio View Post
    I agree. I wonder how long the mkI version was available and why it's been superseded by the mkII. Even so, how would it even get to market if it can't handle 2V? And where in the chain is its volume control? If it was the first thing the signal encountered it would be a simple matter to turn it down to prevent overload.
    On the assumption that it's only quite small/light, maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to send it to Jez for checking out and/or repair.
    That's the crux of it, where's the vol control? Indeed as I suggested it should not have got to market if it can't handle the standard 2V output of the sources 90% of customers will be using with it!

    I wasn't for a moment suggesting that the op send it to me for any tests, more just a throwaway comment that as in 90% of such cases it would be dead easy and take minutes if one was present with suitable test gear to see it for ones self. If the op really wants me to check it then I can do that but would need the source as well as the headphone amp and if I found a problem I would have to modify it to suit I guess. It may be not an overload problem but a case of the headphone amp oscillating when it sees a certain source impedance or combination of that and output level. Another possibility is that the source doesn't like a capacitive load it sees in the headphone amp and oscillates.... Without an oscilloscope the op would never know.
    Arkless Electronics-Engineered to be better. Tel. 01670 530674 (after 1pm)

    Modded Thorens TD150, Audio Technica AT-1005 MkII, Technics EPC-300MC, Arkless Hybrid MC phono stage, Arkless passive pre, Arkless 50WPC Class A SS power amp, (or) Arkless modded Leak Stereo 20, Modded Kef Reference 105/3's
    ReVox PR99, Studer B62, Ferrograph Series 7, Tandberg TCD440, Hitachi FT-5500MkI, also FT-5500MkII
    Digital: Yamaha CDR-HD1500 (Digital Swiss army knife-CD recorder, player, hard drive, DAC and ADC in one), PC files via 24/96 sound card and SPDIF, modded Philips CD850, modded Philips CD104, modded DPA Little Bit DAC. Sennheiser HD580 cans with Arkless Headphone amp.
    Cables- free interconnects that come with CD players, mains leads from B&Q, dead kettles etc, extension leads from Tesco

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •