+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 56

Thread: Impedance Matching/Mismatch

  1. #11
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 761
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_LDT View Post
    Would a passive pre solve this at all (I would assume not with there being no active circuitry but I'm not really sure)?
    The tape output of your pre-amp may put out a lower signal level than what comes in. At least, that wouldn't be impossible.
    If the passive replaced your active pre-amp and it simply routed the signal from the DAC out to the headphone amp, no it wouldn't be a solution. A pair of attenuators world be a solution.
    BTW, I notice the Asgard 2 has a high/low gain switch on the back. Does yours? If so, have you got it set to low gain?

  2. #12
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,643
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    It's possible but unlikely that the tape outs would be at a lower level than the input. A Passive pre WOULD be a solution to the problem as would attenuators as they do exactly the same job in exactly the same way. Neither should be required though. I mentioned the low/high gain switch in my last post....

  3. #13
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 761
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I mentioned the low/high gain switch in my last post....
    Yes, sorry, I didn't see your last post - we must have been typing at the same time.

  4. #14
    Join Date: Aug 2011

    Location: Coventry, England UK

    Posts: 423
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    The Asgard mk1 doesn't have the low/gain switch. Good to hear a passive could solve this, that way I can kill 2 birds and see if it'll work in place of my active in the system at the same time. If not, will try some attenuators.

    A big thanks for your help guys, I will report back when I have an update.

  5. #15
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 761
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    A Passive pre WOULD be a solution to the problem as would attenuators as they do exactly the same job in exactly the same way.
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_LDT View Post
    Good to hear a passive could solve this, that way I can kill 2 birds and see if it'll work in place of my active in the system at the same time.
    I think you may have misunderstood what Jez and I were saying. I think Jez's comment above refers to using a passive pre-amp in addition to your active pre-amp to reduce the signal level going to the headphone amp. He's not talking about swapping the active pre-amp for a passive one and feeding the headphone amp from the passive pre-amp's tape outputs.

    Just get a pair of attenuators and the problem is solved.

  6. #16
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,643
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.

  7. #17
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Belfast/Northern Ireland/UK

    Posts: 16,599
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Simon try a different make of interconnect between the DAC and the headphone amp.
    Regards Neil

    System 1: AMG Giro turntable, AMG 9W2 tonearm, Air Tight PC3 cartridge, Passlabs Xono phonostage, AMG Reference armcable. Accuphase DP57 CD player, Marantz SA7 SACD player, Sony HAP Z1es Digital File Player + Audioquest Jitter Bug, Veracity Mystra DAC + Dell Laptop + iFi i power + JKenny JKSPIDIF, Wireworld Starlight USB + Audioquest Jitter Bug, for computer audio, Audio Valve RKV2 headphone amp, headphones Grado GS 1000, Balanced Audio Technology VK300se integrated amplifier, Anthony Gallo Reference 3.1 speakers. Cabling: Signal - Audience AU24, Analysis Plus, Atlas Mavros, Speaker - QED Genesis Silver Spiral. Mains Cabling: Audience AU24, Analysis Plus, TCI. Mark Grant distribution blocks, Equipment tables Target Audio B series.

    System 2: Loricraft Garrard 401 turntable + SME 5 tonearm + VDH MC10 cartridge + Graham IC70 tonearm cable, Modified Technics 1200 turntable + Triplannar 7 tonearm + VDH Frog Gold cartridge + Paul Hynes SR7 PSU, SME Model 20 turntable + Graham Phantom tonearm + Ortofon MC5200 cartridge + Graham IC70 tonearm cable, Balanced Audio Technology VK10se phonostage, Moon Andromeda CD player, Esoteric P5 SACD transport and P 5 DAC, Toshiba 9500 DVD Audio player, AMR DP777 DAC + HP laptop + iFi i power + Wireworld Starlight USB - for computer audio, Kenwood 8300 tuner, Revox B760 tuner, Magnum Dynalab signal sleuth, Leak Troughline tuner + EAR Stereo decoder, Revox B77 mk 2 & Revox A77 mk3 reel to reel recorders, Balanced Audio Technology VK52se pre-amplifier, Music Reference RM200 mk1 power-amplifier, Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 speakers. Cabling: Signal/Speaker - Atlas Mavros. Mains Cabling: Audience AU24, TCI. Mains distribution blocks Mark Grant and Russ Andrews, Equipment tables Clear Light Audio.

  8. #18
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 761
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.
    Ah yes, that would make sense.

  9. #19
    Join Date: Aug 2011

    Location: Coventry, England UK

    Posts: 423
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.
    That's what I'm thinking to try. I don't think many passives have tape outs, from those I've seen/read about.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalek Supreme D L View Post
    Simon try a different make of interconnect between the DAC and the headphone amp.
    I don't have many different interconnects around but I did try 4 different ones and no luck (Van Damme, Klotz MC500 and Mark Grant's Canare & G1000HD).

  10. #20
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,643
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    There is still something not right here whatever "cure" is used.... No modern amp should be overloaded by a CD player (or other digital source with 2V output) as this is the de facto "standard" input these days! As with many such problems it would no doubt be obvious within a few minutes what the issue is if I was there with my test gear but diagnosis via internet is another matter!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •