+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 56

Thread: Impedance Matching/Mismatch

  1. #11
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 1,070
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_LDT View Post
    Would a passive pre solve this at all (I would assume not with there being no active circuitry but I'm not really sure)?
    The tape output of your pre-amp may put out a lower signal level than what comes in. At least, that wouldn't be impossible.
    If the passive replaced your active pre-amp and it simply routed the signal from the DAC out to the headphone amp, no it wouldn't be a solution. A pair of attenuators world be a solution.
    BTW, I notice the Asgard 2 has a high/low gain switch on the back. Does yours? If so, have you got it set to low gain?

  2. #12
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,175
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    It's possible but unlikely that the tape outs would be at a lower level than the input. A Passive pre WOULD be a solution to the problem as would attenuators as they do exactly the same job in exactly the same way. Neither should be required though. I mentioned the low/high gain switch in my last post....

  3. #13
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 1,070
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I mentioned the low/high gain switch in my last post....
    Yes, sorry, I didn't see your last post - we must have been typing at the same time.

  4. #14
    Join Date: Aug 2011

    Location: Coventry, England UK

    Posts: 455
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    The Asgard mk1 doesn't have the low/gain switch. Good to hear a passive could solve this, that way I can kill 2 birds and see if it'll work in place of my active in the system at the same time. If not, will try some attenuators.

    A big thanks for your help guys, I will report back when I have an update.

  5. #15
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 1,070
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    A Passive pre WOULD be a solution to the problem as would attenuators as they do exactly the same job in exactly the same way.
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_LDT View Post
    Good to hear a passive could solve this, that way I can kill 2 birds and see if it'll work in place of my active in the system at the same time.
    I think you may have misunderstood what Jez and I were saying. I think Jez's comment above refers to using a passive pre-amp in addition to your active pre-amp to reduce the signal level going to the headphone amp. He's not talking about swapping the active pre-amp for a passive one and feeding the headphone amp from the passive pre-amp's tape outputs.

    Just get a pair of attenuators and the problem is solved.

  6. #16
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,175
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.

  7. #17
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Belfast/Northern Ireland/UK

    Posts: 16,980
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Simon try a different make of interconnect between the DAC and the headphone amp.
    Regards Neil

    System 1 (Living Room) : AMG Giro turntable, AMG 9W2 tonearm, Air Tight PC3 cartridge, Passlabs Xono phonostage, AMG Reference armcable. Marantz CD7 CD player, Sony HAP Z1es Digital File Player + Audioquest Jitter Bug, AMR DP777 DAC + HP laptop + iFi Audio i power, Wireworld Starlight USB + Audioquest Jitter Bug, for computer audio, Audio Valve RKV2 headphone amp, headphones Grado GS 1000, Nakamichi CR5e tape deck, Balanced Audio Technology VK300se integrated amplifier, Anthony Gallo Reference 3.1 speakers. Cabling: Signal - Atlas Mavros, Audience AU24, Speaker - Atlas Mavros. Mains Cabling: Audience AU24, Analysis Plus, TCI. Mark Grant distribution blocks, Equipment tables Target Audio B series.

    System 2 (Music Room) : Loricraft Garrard 401 turntable + SME 5 tonearm + VDH MC10 cartridge + Graham IC70 tonearm cable, Modified Technics 1200 turntable + Triplannar 7 tonearm + VDH Frog Gold cartridge + Paul Hynes SR7 PSU, SME Model 20 turntable + Graham Phantom tonearm + Ortofon MC5200 cartridge + Graham IC70 tonearm cable, Balanced Audio Technology VK10se phonostage, Moon Andromeda CD player, Esoteric P5 SACD transport and P 5 DAC, Toshiba 9500 DVD Audio player, AMR DP777 DAC + Dell Laptop + iFi Audio i power + JKenny JKSPIDIF + Wireworld Starlight USB - for computer audio, Kenwood 8300 tuner, Revox B760 tuner, Magnum Dynalab signal sleuth, Leak Troughline tuner + EAR Stereo decoder, Revox B77 mk 2 & Revox A77 mk3 reel to reel recorders, Balanced Audio Technology VK52se pre-amplifier, Music Reference RM200 mk1 power-amplifier, Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 speakers. Cabling: Signal/Speaker - Audience AU24, XLO Type6. Mains Cabling: Audience AU24, TCI. Mains distribution blocks Mark Grant and Russ Andrews, Equipment tables Clear Light Audio.

  8. #18
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Bolton, England

    Posts: 1,070
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.
    Ah yes, that would make sense.

  9. #19
    Join Date: Aug 2011

    Location: Coventry, England UK

    Posts: 455
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkless Electronics View Post
    I was referring to replacing the active pre amp with a passive and using the main outputs, not the tape out, to drive the headphone amp.
    That's what I'm thinking to try. I don't think many passives have tape outs, from those I've seen/read about.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalek Supreme D L View Post
    Simon try a different make of interconnect between the DAC and the headphone amp.
    I don't have many different interconnects around but I did try 4 different ones and no luck (Van Damme, Klotz MC500 and Mark Grant's Canare & G1000HD).

  10. #20
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: NE England

    Posts: 4,175
    I'm Jez.

    Default

    There is still something not right here whatever "cure" is used.... No modern amp should be overloaded by a CD player (or other digital source with 2V output) as this is the de facto "standard" input these days! As with many such problems it would no doubt be obvious within a few minutes what the issue is if I was there with my test gear but diagnosis via internet is another matter!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •