+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on this Pro-Ject music streamer DSA?

I'm Russell.

Default Opinions on this Pro-Ject music streamer DSA?

https://www.projectaudio.com.au/products/stream-box-dsa

I was browsing the streamers on eBay, and came across this one. Anyone have any experiences with it? It's a bit cheaper on eBay than on their website.

I was a bit overwhelmed by the vast selection I saw on eBay, Cambridge, Marantz, Logitech, too many to count! I really don't want my PC tied up to the stereo all the time, and these boxes can also feed from a wifi server. I'm a complete noob with this stuff, trying to get educated. Help!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I'm Will.

Quote Originally Posted by alphaGT View Post
    I was browsing the streamers on eBay, and came across this one. Anyone have any experiences with it? It's a bit cheaper on eBay than on their website.

I was a bit overwhelmed by the vast selection I saw on eBay, Cambridge, Marantz, Logitech, too many to count! I really don't want my PC tied up to the stereo all the time, and these boxes can also feed from a wifi server. I'm a complete noob with this stuff, trying to get educated. Help!

I'd suggest one or more raspberry pi's would be a good starting place

An ideal architecture IMHO is as follows;

1. Some form of NAS, hardwired to the network, holding your music files, should give you RAID (mirroring) capabilities for 'backup'

2. A pi3, hardwired to the network, loaded with piCorePlayer 3.11, running LMS, configured to read your NAS files, running as the 'server'

3. One or more pi2's either feeding an existing DAC, via USB, or coax (eg HiFiDigi+ Pro), or an on-board DAC (IQaudio, Audiophonics, HiFiBerry, Allo etc.). These can be either wifi or hardwired, I'd suggest wifi for an on board DAC.