+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SPDIF output to AES/EBU input

  1. #1
    Join Date: Mar 2009

    Location: Chelmsford, Essex

    Posts: 157
    I'm Gareth.

    Default SPDIF output to AES/EBU input

    As per title, is this possible?

    Some context: I've recently acquired a Auralic Altair which, amongst others, has a AES/EBU input:



    I no longer own a digital source with a AES/EBU output and in order to maximise my options, I'd like to use any SPDIF digital source and plug it into the AES/EBU input. I've not been able to find a definitive answer and have tried one of these, but it doesn't appear to work:

    http://www.neutrik.com/en/accessorie...rs/naditbnc-mx

    EDIT: I am concerned the Neutrik device I purchased from eBay might be faulty, but can't be 100% certain.

    Am I on a hiding to nothing?

  2. #2
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Rossendale

    Posts: 7,674
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    S/PDIF is 75ohm impedence.
    AES3/EBU is 110ohm impedence.
    It's not just a simple case of physical adapters.
    Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date: Mar 2009

    Location: Chelmsford, Essex

    Posts: 157
    I'm Gareth.

    Default

    The Neutrik device appears to offer a 75ohm input and with a 110ohm output. Have I misinterpreted the specs?

  4. #4
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: Brighton

    Posts: 4
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    I use those Neutrik adaptors at work all the time with no problems. Despite the impedance mismatch, a phono to XLR cable usually works.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Mar 2009

    Location: Chelmsford, Essex

    Posts: 157
    I'm Gareth.

    Default

    Thanks.

    That's why I believe the Neutrik device I've purchased is faulty. There's physical evidence suggesting it's been opened. I need to test it before seeking a refund from the seller.

    Canare produce something similar, albeit expensive:

    http://www.canford.co.uk/Products/23...-to-BNC-socket

    I'm uncertain if I can use a (cheaper option) RCA to XLR cable or the more expensive adapter.

  6. #6
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: Brighton

    Posts: 4
    I'm Simon.

    Default

    I could pop one in the post for you to borrow?

  7. #7
    Join Date: Mar 2009

    Location: Chelmsford, Essex

    Posts: 157
    I'm Gareth.

    Default

    Wow! That would be great, thanks. I'll PM you my details.

+ Reply to Thread



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •