+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 71

Thread: Tidal now streaming MQA!

  1. #41
    Join Date: Jan 2013

    Location: Bristol

    Posts: 3,402
    I'm Justin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macca View Post
    Yeah I am sceptical especially when it involves old recordings like Space Oddity or Astral Weeks. If you've got a Cd from the first gen master you have got the master. There's nothing missing. So when people are saying the MQA version is clearly 'better' it has me asking questions. I mean, a recording is not complex data, it is a simple waveform, there is only so much there you can 'reveal'. So I think it is possible that MQA is just a sophisticated graphic equaliser.
    All good til the graphic equaliser bit? What do you mean?

  2. #42
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 18,321
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    I'm theorising that MQA adds some sort of sophisticated EQ to the sound. So they didn't sit down and painstakingly remaster 600 albums, they just run them through MQA and they are equalised to sound 'better' when decoded via MQA.

    Thing is that isn't technically the original recording. But then I suppose you could argue that any re-master isn't either. But I sort of draw a personal line at 'jazzing up' the sound. If that is what MQA does, I'm speculating here obviously.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / NVA A30 Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  3. #43
    Join Date: Mar 2015

    Location: Auckland, New Zealand

    Posts: 312
    I'm Deano.

    Default

    Hmmm interesting, i thought that they have the masters and just compress them using the MQA algorithm, but i really am not sure,

    Sent from my LG-H961N using Tapatalk

  4. #44
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 18,321
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    One of the claims is that with the old recordings, if they know which specific analogue to digital converter was used to make the digital master, they can correct for its deficiencies and this improves sound quality. But I've not read any proper explanation of how that works. There isn't one on the MQA video, old Bob basically says two things, it is a smaller file but it is still 'hi rez', no mention of the ADC thing.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / NVA A30 Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  5. #45
    Join Date: Oct 2008

    Location: Glasgowshire

    Posts: 6,190
    I'm availableforweddingsAndBarmitzvas.

    Default

    Some info on the MQA format here:
    http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...rmat-explained

    Linked if for no other reason it has the phrase "audio beardies who only buy music from studio master portals that basically only sell jazz albums" in it.
    I have hifi 'n stuff.


  6. #46
    Join Date: Mar 2015

    Location: Auckland, New Zealand

    Posts: 312
    I'm Deano.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gazjam View Post
    Some info on the MQA format here:
    http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...rmat-explained

    Linked if for no other reason it has the phrase "audio beardies who only buy music from studio master portals that basically only sell jazz albums" in it.
    Ok well that didnt explain anything we dont already know, hopefully someone can explain if the masters are actully the original studio recording masters being reformatted to a data transferable package, or is the MQA software adjusting eq and repackaging?

    Sent from my LG-H961N using Tapatalk

  7. #47
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 18,321
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gazjam View Post
    Some info on the MQA format here:
    http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...rmat-explained

    Linked if for no other reason it has the phrase "audio beardies who only buy music from studio master portals that basically only sell jazz albums" in it.
    LOL quick everyone, shave your beards off, delete your jazz downloads and we'll do a class action lawsuit.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / NVA A30 Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  8. #48
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 38,553
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    not sure how you can hear any difference without the dac software installed. say it will just come out at 16 44 if you dont have it.?
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    DENON DV2900 - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP - AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTH - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER23, DEEZER HiFi - ECHO DOT - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN's - Q ACOUSTIC BT3 actives - CANTON SUB - MAINS REGENERATED.

  9. #49
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 18,321
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    No, it decodes in the pc application. There is an option to decode it in the DAC instead, Doesn't seem clear as to whether one way is better than the other, you need an MQA ready DAC of course.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Sony X505ES CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / NVA A30 Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *



    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me." - Hunter S Thompson

  10. #50
    Join Date: Oct 2008

    Location: Glasgowshire

    Posts: 6,190
    I'm availableforweddingsAndBarmitzvas.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    not sure how you can hear any difference without the dac software installed. say it will just come out at 16 44 if you dont have it.?
    Will be 24bit Grant, so will be "improved" even if the MQA processing doesn't kick in on normal dac.
    Plays fine on my non MQA Young Dac through Roon, shows as 24/48 or whatever the higher rate of the track is.
    I have hifi 'n stuff.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •