+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tannoy cheviot -x over rebuilds

I'm Brian.

Default Tannoy cheviot -x over rebuilds

Gents , im a Mechanical engineer , not an electrical .. so i need some advice ..

I want to rebuild some Cheviot crossovers , is it as easy as buying the same value components, but better quaility ? Or is there more to it ?

I'm Geoff.

They may benefit, but what makes you think the crossovers need rebuilding?

In any case, I'd suggest speaking to Paul at RFC (trade section). He has rebuilt these and can qadvise. He will probably have any parts you may need.
    It is impossible for anything digital to sound analogue, because it isn't analogue!

I'm Brian.

Hi , just the fact that they are getting old now , and with better new componants would hope an improvement in sound quaility..

I'm Geoff.

As I said. Speak to Paul.

You will find him posting here today about Tannoy crossovers.

http://theartofsound.net/forum/showt...527#post813527
    It is impossible for anything digital to sound analogue, because it isn't analogue!

I'm Paul.

Brian

they need carefully, completely dismantling. Don't lose the spacers for the inductors (air gap spacers) whatever you do when dismantling and be careful not to snag/snap the inductor and autoformer wiring which is quite delicate. The switches need taking apart and cleaning which is fiddly but worthwhile. The only components I'd recommend changing are the caps as the originals weren't always very tightly specified and whilst they do the job (in the case of the later brown plastic bodied polys), there are better available for not a lot of cost now. You will find it a squeeze fitting everything in if you deviate from the box capacitors.