+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: speaker cable selection

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

I'm Jonathan.

Default speaker cable selection

hi guys,

I have a new system which I getting used to, and wondered if there is a type of speaker cable which suits particular systems better. I am using a Simaudio Moon Neo Ace al in one and a pair of dynaudio contour s3.4 speakers. So far I tried some old chord epic which I found a bit cold and flat, and now trying some tellurium q black which sounds nicer all round.
    I suppose I want to understand if there is a type of cable which I should try based on the systems specs below, as im not too technical.

Simaudio Neo Ace
    Configuration Stereo
    Power Supply Transformer 250VA
    Power Supply Capacitance 20,000μF
    Class Of Operation – Amplifier Class A/B
    Single-ended inputs 2 (RCA) pairs
    Mini-jack input 1 (1/8”)
    Input Sensitivity 370mV – 3.0V RMS
    Input Impedance 22,100Ω
    Preamplifier / Subwoofer output 1 (RCA) pair
    Headphone output 1 ( 1/4” Stereo TRS)
    Output Power @ 8Ω 50 Watts per channel
    Output Power @ 4Ω 85 Watts per channel
    Gain 37dB
    Signal-to-noise Ratio 100dB @ full power
    Frequency Response 10Hz - 80kHz +0/-3.0dB
    Crosstalk@ 1kHz -100dB
    Intermodulation Distortion 0.005%
    Total Harmonic Distortion (20Hz-20kHz @ 1W) 0.02%
    Total Harmonic Distortion (20Hz-20kHz @ 50W) 0.02%
    Remote Control Full-Function (CRM-3)
    Display Type OLED
    Power Consumption @ idle 44 watts
    Power Consumption @ Standby 11 watts

Dynaudio Contour S3.4

Sensitivity: 86 dB (2,83 V/1 m)
    IEC Power Handling: 270 W
    Impedance: 4 Ohms
    Frequency Response: 35 Hz – 25 kHz (± 3 dB)
    Box Principle: 2-way bass-reflex
    Crossover Frequencies: 2000 Hz

I'm Geoff.

The Tellurium Q Black is well liked I believe. Not tried it.