+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A not too expensive MC cartridge for classical music

I'm Marco.

Default A not too expensive MC cartridge for classical music

Good evening everyone,

I'm new here, this is my first post after the presentation ones. I'm a classical musician myself and I listen (on LPs) almost only to classical music, with lots of piano and chamber music, but also "big" symphonic and (a little less) opera repertoire. Over time I've found that, before any considerations about tonal colour, the cartridge I use must have absolutely excellent tracking up to the inner grooves, and it must be able to keep a good transparency when the music is complex. I don't need big impact, I look much more for details, even when the music is "big" - I find life in the details, not in the "groove".

Last year I had the chance to get a Townshend Rock Reference with the Excalibur tonearm, and I'm very happy about how it made a humble Technics P22 cartridge (on a p-mount adapter...) sound much better then any other turntable I tried it on. Now it's time to go for something better: maybe my first MC, to go into the MC preamp of the ION Obelisk 3x.

The subject "Hana SL vs AT-33PTG/II" has been already discussed here, but I'd be happy to ask about it again, taking into account the destination as a "classical music" cartridge. I can listen to the Hana (maybe even in my system, as a final check before buying it), but I have no chance to listen to the AT (which is also some 20-25% cheaper and has slightly better specifications). I may also go a bit higher with the budget and consider a ZXY R50, a Benz ACE, Dynavector 20X or an Ortofon Quintet Black... If from general experience this would be an obviously wiser choice.

I'd be happy to get some suggestions from the community here, to help to take a good decision and somehow to share a bit the process of deciding...