+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best amp on a budget?

I'm Martijn.

Default Best amp on a budget?

Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade my system with a new amp.
    I now use a Beresford TC-7520 DAC to listen to my Flac files I stream from my Mac using Cog and Airfoil.
    Budget is around €500,- for something to replace my Onkyo TX-SV535 receiver.
    Speakers are Acoustic Research Status S50 floorstanders, between the DAC and the receivers sits a Monster 250 Interlink and between my Airport Express and the DAC sits a Beresford Optical cable.
    Speaker cable now is standard 4mm Oehlbach stuff, nothing fancy yet but this might change when I upgrade some more.

I have been looking at The Marantz MP6003 and the Rotel RA-04 for starters, but the the feeling came that you guys might know a bit more about what is good and what isn't.

I'm fairly new to hifi so just asking the experts

Thanks,

Martijn
    Martijn

Try and look out for a 2nd hand NAD C272 poweramp. Its a great amp for the money.
    I had a C272 once, and it drove my father's Martin Logan Quest Z speakers with great results!

Good luck on your search.

I'm notAlone.

On solid-state, the Harman Kardon HK-980 is a serious alternative to the Marantz, imho.
    Dimitri.

In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.
    George Orwell

I'm Martijn.

Now that you mention solid state, I also thought about a Chinese tube amp as they aren't that expensive.
    I fact I would love a tube amp, but price of a good one is about the only thing that's keeping me from buying one...
    Martijn

I'm notAlone.

Quote Originally Posted by Cubeman View Post
    Now that you mention solid state, I also thought about a Chinese tube amp as they aren't that expensive.
    I fact I would love a tube amp, but price of a good one is about the only thing that's keeping me from buying one...
    http://www.miniwatt.com.hk/
    Dimitri.

George Orwell

I'm Martijn.