+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ditton 44 cabinet rebuild ideas (plus....?)

I'm Pim.

Default Ditton 44 cabinet rebuild ideas (plus....?)

Hi folks

Unsure which section this should go in since it may cover more than one area.

Haven't been on for a while due to other obsessions (bicycles n guitars ) taking over from the hifi for a bit. However, I have been thinking about upgrading my Ditton 44s and because I am about to start an evening class in woodwork (always been handy but self-taught), I am thinking of rebuilding my cabinets as my project there a) for the fun of it, and b) to improve the sound.

As I mentioned in my first comments when I joined, my 44s were in a bit of a state - the usual mangled corners and edges and damaged veneer. I sorted them out with 2-part filler and some rosewood varnish and they look so much better, but now I want to take it up a notch. I'm looking at using birch ply and copying the original design - or do you have other suggestions? I have searched around the web but haven't yet found too much on rebuilding cabinets in this way. Perhaps someone can point me somewhere? If nothing else my new cabs would be stronger and more attractive to look at - I may varnish or veneer them.

I would also want to improve anything else - bracing/baffle/front edge/deadening, etc.

I would also consider upgrading some of the electronic components but tbh, although I can handle a soldering iron OK, I glaze over instantly when you experts start talking technically. I'm lost. I'm not that enthusiastic about learning electronics but if there were some basic replacements possible (I have read about the Ansar polyprop capacitors and Alcap electrolytics but I don't really know what is going on!), I would undertake them, I hope with advice from you kind people

I am hoping all this would be worthwhile - I'd certainly enjoy the process! Whaddayareckin?

I'm Geoff.