+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chinese tube amps

Default Chinese tube amps

Anybody purchased one of the cheap tube amps off the net or Ebay ,if so what are they like?

Mark
    Nad C315,Nad C515.Tannoy F1s,Pro-ject-USB Dac

Pro-ject headamp ,Chord Crimson/Cobra2

I'm Jason.

I bought a Yaqin MC10L, off the 'Bay but a private sale not a chinese/hk import.

Now I'm no expert, but I have to say to my ears it sounds bloody good, even stock. Plenty of power and a gorgeous wide soundstage with excellent tonal quality. I'm sure that tube aficionados will be spluttering into their tea right now, but for the £175 quid it cost me I think it's a good low cost entry to the world of tubes. I figured that if I didn't like it I may loose £25 quid selling on.

Now for the caveats - there have been some reports of 220v models having problems with UK mains, which can go up to 250+ volts in some places. Problems range from not working slight inconvenience to worrying incendiary tendencies. Replacing transformers with pukka 240v ones is expensive (£150 ish AFAIK) but there's a step down transformer I saw advertised for around £80. However, what it sounds like is anyones guess. My Yaqin has 240v on it and has so far, touch wood, been reliable. I don't leave it on unattended though - as much for the cost aspect as reliability worries, but I understand you shouldn't leave tube amps anyway.

I've tube rolled with some cheap (but reportedly good) russian ex-mil EL34 replacements with interesting results; not better, just different. Will have to try input tubes next.

So - if you can get a good one (240v compliant) there are some bargains to be had IMHO but caveat emptor, as ever!

Have fun!

Jason
    ----------------------
    Before you criticise a man, walk a mile in his shoes. Then, when you do - you'll be a mile away. And have his shoes.