+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello everyone in AOS from Montreal!

I'm Matthew.

Default Hello everyone in AOS from Montreal!

Hello fellow AOS members,

I'm fairly new to the world of hifi and audio systems but I've always been an avid music listener. I've had the opportunity over the years to enjoy many good systems but never have had my own to enjoy. So finally I decided it was time. Time to make the effort, get educated, work within my budget and start building a system. Needless to say the last 6 months or so have been tons of fun, I've learned so much and expect that journey to continue.

My musical tastes are broad, I enjoy modern classical, electronica and experimental sounds. I love female vocals ranging from blues rock, folk rock and indie rock. Americana, psychedelic, classic, post rock, grunge are all good too.

My system is modest and consists of a used Sl-1200mk2 in perfect shape, it's great. I also bought a used HK 730 in perfect shape, also love it. Speakers are used KLH 17's, which have a surprising rich warmth and full sound with solid bass. My cartridge is a budget Audio Technica. The system so far works quite well together but I look forward to making improvements.

To go a little bit further I'm totally into the idea of DIY and upgrading my gear. I re-doped my speakers, switched out the caps and re did the cabinets, this was very rewarding. I rewired my turntable with custom rca cables and also rewired the tonearm with litz, this was much trickery because I've only now gotten use to the soldering gun but it worked out well with noticeable sonic improvements. I would like to replace the caps and some transistors in my amp but need to read more about all that.

Upgrades next will be a better cart and most likely a phono preamp. I've read about Alan Firebottle here on AOS and I'm very intrigued.

As far as I know this would be the best direction to start in, but I would love to hear more from all of the knowledge members of this forum.