+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie from Liverpool bit of help to get me started

I'm John.

Default Newbie from Liverpool bit of help to get me started

Hi I have just joined the community today and I live in Liverpool in the UK, which is maybe... just maybe the greatest city in the World, but then I'm biased.

I am new to HiFi in general and this new hobby has arisen from my long time love of music. I like everything from acid/modern jazz to thrash metal, from folk to prog rock, dubstep to ambient house and everthing inbetween from every era. I've recently been discovering Terry Callier and Sarah Vaughan... Nice!!

My rather budget system comprises of:

Sources:- NAD542 cdp, Technics 1210 with a Moth mk1 (rega 202) arm with incognito wiring and Nag MP110 cart, using phono in the Creek.
    Amp:- Creek 4040s3
    Speakers:- Dynaudio DM2/7 on Epos ES11 stands

I'm hoping to make my 1st visit to Scalford in a few weeks... cool.

I've joined AoS to get advice on upgrading my Techie.

Couple of questions to save me hours searching which I would like advise on please:

1. Which is considered the best platter mat $100 or so to replace the rubber one, been looking at the Herbie's and Achromat?

2. The rega arm has the incognito rewire so I was thinking of upgrading the stub and weight to a michelle techno, but I'm also thinking of saving the cash and upgrading the arm in the future instead to a Jelco 750d, what's your opinions on this?

3. Could point me in the right direction to find information on how to fit a new arm plate, it has a sound supports arm plate on it at the moment but I had to glue it in place as I just couldn't see how to bolt it without taking the whole deck apart, I'm thinking of getting a speedy steve ebony one in the future, cos they just look gorgeous

Thanks for any advice
    John

I'm openingabottleofwine.

Welcome to AoS John.

Wonderfully wide tastes in music you enjoy!