+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upgrade The Tonearm, Why?

I'm Nathan.

Question Upgrade The Tonearm, Why?

I'll ask the question here in a more Techie friendly forum. What exactly is it that makes a better tonearm, better? Replacing the stock tonearm seems to be a worthwhile mod because many have done it and heartily recommend it. Just what benefit does a better quality tonearm give? Excuse me if this seems like a silly question but I'm new to modding turntables and just trying to learn.

I'm Andrei.

There are many issues as to tonearm quality, and some issues as to features. For quality a good starting point is the Origin Live website: http://www.originlive.com/tonearms-overview.html
    They do sell tonearms and also very much talk the talk but even so ...
    [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Sources:[/B] [B]1[/B][/COLOR] PC & Wyred4Sound DAC-2 DSDse   [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]2[/B][/COLOR] Oppo BDP105   [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]3[/B][/COLOR] Technics SL·1210 MK5 (Jelco 750D · Benz Wood).    [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Speaker Cable[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR=black]Nordost Frey.[/COLOR]    [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Interconnects [/B][/COLOR][COLOR=#000000]Oyaide[/COLOR][COLOR=black] & [/COLOR][COLOR=#000000]Geisha [/COLOR][COLOR=black]Silver.
    [/COLOR][B][COLOR=#a52a2a]Phono Stage [/COLOR][/B][COLOR=black]Fosgate Signature V2. [/COLOR]   [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Preamp [/B][/COLOR][COLOR=#000000]Ayon Eris[/COLOR][COLOR=black]. [/COLOR]   [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Power Amp[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR=Black]ATC P1. [/COLOR]  ​ [COLOR=#a52a2a][B]Speakers[/B][/COLOR] Triangle Magellan Cello.     [COLOR=#A9A9A9]Oh Sting, where is thy death?[/COLOR]

I'm Kevin.

The tonearm is the interface that supports the cartridge.
    You want to minimise any unwanted vibration being transferred to the cartridge/stylus as this will affect the information retrieved from the record surface, and therefore sound quality.
    Kevin

Too busy enjoying the music....

European loan coordinator for Graham Slee HiFi system components..