+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tonearm recommendations please

I'm John.

Default Tonearm recommendations please

Good morning Gents!

I recently replaced my Transfiguration Axia with a Bluelectric Virus cartridge - this is a heavy(ish) one, at 14 gr, with a relatively low compliance (6x10^-6 cm/dyne), that tracks at 2.5 gr. While I intend to use it with my current Rega 300 for the time being, I would potentially be looking at replacing it with a medium/high mass (14/15 gr and over) tonearm as per manufacturer's recommendation. My t/t has an older Rega threaded base - so I would be looking for a drop in replacement of the same geometry. I assume that anything from Origin Live, Audionote, Audiomods should fit the bill but, as I have no experience with any of the above, any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Budget is tightish (around 400-500 quid) and would thus prefer to buy used. Goes without saying that, if anyone has something to sell/offer, I'm certainly listening.
    Cheers!

I'm Gone.

The Origin Live Silver is around 675 new, so a second hand one may just about be in your budget. In my opinion it is the best Rega geometry arm I have heard, it blows the RB1000 out of the water. Best thing is to audition as many as possible

Best of luck

I'm Clive.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulStewart View Post
    The Origin Live Silver is around 675 new, so a second hand one may just about be in your budget. In my opinion it is the best Rega geometry arm I have heard, it blows the RB1000 out of the water. Best thing is to audition as many as possible

Best of luck
    Thank you, thank you, my purchase has been vindicated.
    SOURCE:OPPO UDP-205 BluRay, SkyQ, Technics SL1210M5G/HexMat Eclipse/MN Bearing/Origin Live Gravity One puck/Isonoes with Boots/Jelco TK-850S Tonearm/Hana Umami Blue, PS Audio Stellar Phonostage. I also have an AT-OC9XSH as a spare cartridge.
    AMPLIFIER: Bryston BR-20 Pre/DAC/Streamer & Bryston 4B3 Power Amplifier